We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Charm in SLO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granada Hotel and Bistro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Granada Hotel and Bistro to your Saves list
Granada Hotel and Bistro
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1126 Morro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Costa Mesa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spanish Charm in SLO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I came up to SLO for a short birthday trip for some wine tasting in Paso Robles. We stayed for two nights - a Sunday (Easter, actually) and the next night. After ruling out the B&Bs in Paso, I came across the Granada Inn on tripadvisor and the search was over! The inn is small but the staff friendly and helpful. The Spanish style is done in a modern way-you won't feel like you're in a creepy, dusty, medieval castle. The rooms are stylish, quiet, modern, and sexy. Having a shower in the room is a bit strange but on a couples getaway, works just fine.

We didn't actually end up eating at the bistro unfortunately but it had many patrons both nights of our stay. The location is prime for strolling around SLO. In the morning, coffee is served upstairs in a lounge. There is also a great rooftop outdoor patio with a fireplace and very intimate seating to sit and sip coffee or a glass of wine.

There is a massage room that I didn't partake of - maybe next time! Be forewarned that parking is in the back and you have to drive down a very narrow alley to get to it which is a bit harrowing. I missed the alley the first time.

The pictures online don't really give you too much to go on but can totally be trusted. The inn is sexy and modern with rich dark wood and beautiful stone and vanity. The beds were super comfortable and even though the window of our room faced the parking lot, it was quiet and undisturbed. The cost was really great for the location and the value of the room as well. I will definitely be back if I am headed back up there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    16
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
63
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had lunch here on arrival in town. Realized it was a hotel as well as a Bistro and thought it was really interesting. We cancelled our reservations and decided to stay at the Granada for our one night in town. It's a new place and I would have to say we liked it so much better than staying on the coast or outside of town. The location is great. The shops and restaurants start just outside the doors and continue for blocks. Close to the university and a ten minute drive to the beach. The atmosphere though was really neat. It's a rebuild that kept the old world charm and was extremely well done. Great room amenities and great beds. Everything was polished. I can't even list the little things they did so well but my guess is the price will go up as they get more visibility. The bistro was also really nice and a great place for lunch outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I absolutely loved this place. So chic and elegant. I loved the rooftop fireplace, the gorgeous exposed brick wall in our room, and the shower/sink area was so cool. Comfy bed and nice toiletries.
If you find yourself in downtown SLO, you will love it here.
The only thing to make this place better would be to have a Kuereg coffee maker instead of the large pot in the common area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Up to now, there hasn't been a huge selection of places to stay beyond motels, a few bnb's and some old landmark inns (Madonna, for one). Which is totally fine, but what with the chic farm to table aesthetic of the area, combined with all the wineries, it has been a mystery to me why there wasn't a place that combined all of those elements in a place to lay one's head. Well, now there is one and it's the Granada. I grew up in SLO and watched it transform from a sleepy cattle town to a pretty bustling university and tourist destination. The Granada beckons you from the first step in the doorway, with rich dark colors, exposed brick, chic 'industrial meets vintage' touches in the furnishings and decor.

My husband and I were really impressed with the customer service of all the staff. Our suite (12) overlooked Morro Street and was beautifully appointed with great linens, a very comfortable bed and bottled water to drink. Literary choices for bedside reading was a great touch, as is the lighting in the room. Even though we came to see friends and do some sightseeing, we ended up lounging at the hotel more than we ever imagined we would due to the total comfort of the place. We had dinner by the fireplace upstairs with a friend and the food was outstanding. There was a 'gourmet fried chicken' special that was succulent and delicious, as were the wine and cocktail selections. In fact, we extended our stay for another night. Unfortunately, Sunday is when the street cleaning and trash pick up takes place and because we left our window open, we didn't get the restful sleep we'd had the night before. But, other than that, we have now found our 'go-to' hotel when visiting SLO. The bistro downstairs has a patio with a fireplace and really attentive staff and great food. Also, a winning note was the exceptional coffee that awaited us in the morning!

Room Tip: I would add that on Sunday nights a room toward the back is preferable, but probably just leaving th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Arriving on a damp dreary afternoon we were greeted warmly by the receptionist and escorted to our room #14. She pointed out the cozy lounge and fireplace as well as where we could find coffee in the morning.

The room was on the small side yet the attention to detail by the designer was evident. The exposed brick and the glass paneled shower added to the uniqueness. Top notch soaps/shampoos in the silver trays and a Polaroid camera on the desk were nice touches. Our window did look out onto the outdoor patio and I wonder what the noise level would have been on a hot summer night and there would be little privacy in the room with the curtains open.

Although the room book said a newspaper was to be delivered to the door it did not happen and when asked why it wasn't they said they haven't set it up yet. Also at this price point, at other B & B's or Inns we have stayed in, there was wine/hors d'ouvers in the evening or muffins/rolls were served with morning coffee. I think one or the other would be a nice feature.

The location can't be beat and the free parking behind the hotel was a plus. Although we didn't eat at the Bistro it was bustling on a Thursday night. It looked warm and inviting with the twinkling lights and fire element.

We enjoyed our brief stay and with a few small changes we think it would really be a special get-a-way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Upon check in you notice that the Granada is something a little different. Rather than giving you a plastic room card and sending you on your way the host leads you. To your room, lets you in and then gives you your key - a physical, metal key. The room spaces are funky, carved out of the old building with raw brick interiors in many surfaces. The toiletries are something you'd choose to use, and the beds a comfortable. I had the pleasure of staying here on a business trip, but couldn't stop thinking this would be a great spot for an adult get away. The restaurant has wonderful food and a great selection of local wines.

At the end of the trip I discovered that my Internet rate had not been honored. It took a couple of emails, but was rectified th e following week.

Room Tip: The front is a little louder, but the Juliet balcony is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is aesthetically pleasing. I enjoyed a stay with a friend and can't wait to come back with my husband. It is great to be right in the middle of town in proximity to all the great shops and restaurants that SLO has to offer -- and with a parking space! The rooms are small, but we had fun hanging out in the common areas and had some fun conversations around the fire with the other guests while enjoying a glass of wine from the restaurant/bar downstairs.

One somewhat large drawback that I saw mentioned in another review: Loud banging noises all night long from somewhere nearby. Could they have been moving furniture on the roof during the wee hours while pressure washing the parking lot in the dark?? I have no idea what all the noise was about -- but it was disturbing. I guess the rest of the experience was so charming that I will give it another try...but I will make sure to bring earplugs next time. :)

Kudos to the staff for being extraordinarily friendly and helpful. In every way from the phone reservation to the needle and thread given for my friends' missing button, the service was top notch!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granada Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Hotel and Bistro

Address: 1126 Morro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granada Hotel and Bistro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant serving farm-to-table dishes inspired by Spanish cuisine. The hotel includes 17 rooms: 3 Classic, 10 Deluxe, and 4 Suites with balconies. The design exposes the raw elements of the original 1920's building. Each well-appointed room features original hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, antique Persian rugs, original artwork and the finest textiles. They are 100% non-smoking and offer air-conditioning, LCD flat-screen TVs, and bath products by C&O Bigelow and Kiki de Montoarnasse. Also included in the rate is a complimentary Linus Bikes for touring the area. Granada is situated in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo, making it easy for guests to enjoy a wide range of activities including wine tasting, hiking through the lush countryside, a day at the beach, golfing, or strolling downtown shops and restaurants. The world famous Farmers Market is located one block from the hotel, and is held every Thursday night. Oprah Winfrey and National Geographic recently named this ‘the happiest city in America’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Granada Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granada Hotel and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.