We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and amazing suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granada Hotel and Bistro

Save Saved
You added Granada Hotel and Bistro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Granada Hotel and Bistro
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1126 Morro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Southern Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hospitality and amazing suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Arrived to find out we were upgraded to a suite after purchasing a deluxe room due to availability which was unexpected but much appreciated. The suite came with a small balcony and large windows overlooking the street in front on the hotel. The room was a little small compared to other suites but was perfectly thought out with above average amenities and a gas fireplace that worked perfectly. The bed was very comfortable and given the location of the suite within the hotel it was very quiet and private as well. The staff could not have been more friendly and helped me with a few requests that were out of the ordinary (I had to print a few items and since they don't have a business center the front desk allowed me to email them a few things so they could print them for me). I've stayed at a few other locations in San Luis Obispo but the Granada was the best by far. I will return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
48
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford,
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This building is not designed to be a hotel. There were odd screeching and banging noises in the room. Strange smell from the fake log fire. If you open the curtains other people can see into your room. Generally too little space. I can understand the brothel theme - since this was once a brothel. Personally I found it inconvenient and not worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Granada Hotel is a wonderful hotel. With only 17 rooms and a common area and patio in the middle. The accomodations were very comfy, the staff is very accomodating and the location can't be beat. In the center of the downtown area, walking distance to everything downtown makes for a delightful get-away. Everything down to the music choice in the bistro was a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Room #13 for three nights in mid-January. We were excited to be among the first guests of this ambitious remodeling project and we were delighted with our stay. As other reviewers have already noted, the vibe is great here, the downtown location is a real plus, the employees are friendly and the Bistro cuisine is wonderful. The rooms are quite small, even our "Suite" felt a little snug. The decor is quite impressive throughout the hotel as are the fire pits in several different areas of the building. As evening approaches, the staff puts out candles in many areas of the second floor, which adds a nice touch to an already-nice place. There is limited parking in a small lot behind the hotel but drivers of larger vehicles may find the very narrow alley that leads to it much too tight a fit. There's freshly brewed coffee in the morning for guests and, although it might have been nice to have some muffins/breakfast pastries to nibble on, there are a lot of good restaurants around that serve up a tasty breakfast. Two slight complaints: the Bistro's wine list is fairly limited (I thought more local wines would be featured) and expensive. When I went to charge dinner to the room, I was more than a little surprised to discover that out waiter had already added a gratuity to the charge. He said it was "Hotel Policy" but I would have appreciated the ability to tip the amount I wanted instead of having it ordained for me. Other than that though, our stay here was quite enjoyable. I noticed a room on the first floor with two massage tables side by side. They looked enticing and maybe we'll have the time to book some massages for our return visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderful, newish boutique hotel in SLO. Great central location, comfortable rooms, free parking, lovely common areas for lounging, rooftop verandah, and a hip, high-quality bistro and lounge adjacent to the lobby. What more could a traveler ask for? REALLY well-executed from start to finish---kudos to the the proprietor for a job well done. Our new favorite place in SLO!

Room Tip: We were in room 15...a $25 upgrade from the base room. We felt the upgrade was very much worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Wow! Have read all the reviews and Penelope- I truly agree with you. Who envisioned this? AWESOME work! I LOVE this place. Had a Wonderful weekend with family. Have a son at Cal Poly- SO tired of my hotel options there... ugh. This is a breath of fresh air- as though someone read my mind about how to please me for a weekend. There's not enough space to extoll the virtues. The room was awesome, the rooftop terrace- even better- with drinks and appetizers there before heading down for dinner. I'm tempted to keep this all to myself so it won't be flooded with business. I'm being very unselfish here. It is smaller than most American hotels- and I loved that- with attention to detail at every turn- from the entry greeting we received to the art to the architecture to the menu and food served at the bistro, to the rooftop terrace with fireplace to the games and game tables in the "lobby". Oh my gosh- you just have to check it for yourself to see what is true. Btw, Penelope (prior review), you predicted the stars and others would find it and fill it up- I sat next to William Shatner on the terrace. As far as I could tell, everyone there that night couldn't have been more pleased.

Room Tip: we stayed in 14- right outside the outdoor rooftop terrace on a Saturday night- it was absolutely fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent two nights at the Granada the first week in January. The location is perfect for enjoying downtown San Luis Obispo and the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. We found the staff was very helpful and the morning coffee was excellent! Next time I'm in SLO, this is where I'm staying.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Granada Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Hotel and Bistro

Address: 1126 Morro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granada Hotel and Bistro 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant serving farm-to-table dishes inspired by Spanish cuisine. The hotel includes 17 rooms: 3 Classic, 10 Deluxe, and 4 Suites with balconies. The design exposes the raw elements of the original 1920's building. Each well-appointed room features original hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, antique Persian rugs, original artwork and the finest textiles. They are 100% non-smoking and offer air-conditioning, LCD flat-screen TVs, and bath products by C&O Bigelow and Kiki de Montoarnasse. Also included in the rate is a complimentary Linus Bikes for touring the area. Granada is situated in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo, making it easy for guests to enjoy a wide range of activities including wine tasting, hiking through the lush countryside, a day at the beach, golfing, or strolling downtown shops and restaurants. The world famous Farmers Market is located one block from the hotel, and is held every Thursday night. Oprah Winfrey and National Geographic recently named this ‘the happiest city in America’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Granada Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granada Hotel and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.