We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in SLO, by far!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granada Hotel and Bistro

Save Saved
You added Granada Hotel and Bistro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Granada Hotel and Bistro
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1126 Morro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in SLO, by far!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Value is important to me. I have stayed at Granada at least four times in the past three months and have loved it every time. The rooms are small yet beautiful. This is an intimate boutique hotel in which the owners have clearly paid close attention to the details. It's centrally located in downtown SLO and is in the heart of all the restaurants, bars and shops. I also found the hotel to be quite even though it's close to the action.

The Granada also offers a very good restaurant. Again, it's one of the best in town by far! Exceptional cocktails crafted by a mixologist (ask for Noah), and well portioned food. The menu offers enough variety without going overboard. If you're looking for an excellent place for a date, or an intimate dinner, this is definitely it. It's also a cool place to meet friends for great cocktails or happy hour.

This is a new hotel, and I think the Granada could improve on a few things: Service from the wait staff could be a bit better. They just need to pay a little closer attention to the small details of service. They do a good job, when they could be doing an exceptional job. I'd also like to see the beds have a thicker down comforter for the winter months, and softer pillows. The Granada also has slightly limited private parking which at times can be a bit of a challenge. They have an extra parking lot directly next door that guests can use, which proves to be a decent solution. I'd like to see priority parking, however, for guests of the hotel.

With all this said, I HIGHLY recommend the Granada! If you're looking for a relaxed, cozy experience, this is it. If you're looking to feel pampered, this is the place. If you're looking to impress your lady, come here. If you're looking for average or typical, this is not the place for you. The Granada offers a luxury experience without clocking you over the head with a hefty bill.

Room Tip: Request Room 1...trust me ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    13
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
59
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is no secret that since Granada Bistro new opening, it has by far the best food in town. Every aspect of every meal is hand-crafted by the chef, even the house-made thick cut bacon, The restaurant's intimate feel is as close as you can get to eating alongside the narrow cobblestone roads in Southern Spain. As expected, the dinner was absolutely delicious. However, the breakfast was an extremely pleasant surprise. I ordered the egg-white omelet with mouthwatering goat cheese, corn, cherry tomatoes and perfectly roasted fingerling potatoes on the side. My boyfriend ordered the Eggs Benedict, which he immediately deemed the best he'd ever had and made me try it. It was the perfect combo: house-made bacon, fresh cornbread, and a perfectly cooked over-easy egg, all topped off with an amazing hollandaise. Granada without a doubt stands out among the abundance of breakfast spots in SLO....you must try!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the balcony rooms;) It's the perfect spot to sip the house coffee or share a bott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxyldh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The staff were terribly rude because they didn't see me and my husband as serious guests and they put us in the smallest room and ignored all our room service requests from more towels to breakfast. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly W, Owner at Granada Hotel and Bistro, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear honored guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We take the feedback of our guests extremely seriously as it gives us the opportunity to improve.

As I stated in your husbands trip advisor review response, we apologize for any misunderstanding you experienced while staying at Granada. As we discussed at the time of your reservation, the hotel was very full that evening and we gave you the best appointed room we could given your price point needs. Of course, since we graciously discounted your room as a courtesy for your situation - we would not able to give you an upgraded room.

In regards to breakfast, we are only currently set up for coffee service, which is provided every morning to all guests of the hotel. We do have a brunch on the weekends but your stay was during the mid week.

We do realize that Granada Hotel & Bistro has a very specific vision and sophistication that is not ideal for everyone. The New York Times referred to Granada as San Luis Obispo's "First Luxury Boutique Hotel", and as such the hotel is not ideal for guests seeking a traditional experience.
We would be delighted to discuss your stay further.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointed. I spoke to 3 different people including the manager. All told me that "every room has a fireplace" UNTRUE. I explained that this was a very special anniversary. The hotel was almost completely vacant and they gave us the smallest room that I've seen since staying in NYC. No closet. No place to set a suitcase, additionally it was quite loud. You hear every little noise in the hotel. The window shade only pulls down enough to allow the street light to shine on your face all night. I was very disappointed. If you must stay downtown, be sure to ask to see the room. I will NOT come back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly W, Owner at Granada Hotel and Bistro, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear honored guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We take the feedback of our guests extremely seriously as it gives us the opportunity to improve.

We apologize for any misunderstanding you experienced while staying at Granada. As we discussed at the time of your reservation, the hotel was very full that evening and we gave you the best appointed room we could given your price point needs. Of course, since we graciously discounted your room as a courtesy for your situation - we would not able to give you an upgraded room.

We do realize that Granada Hotel & Bistro has a very specific vision and sophistication that is not ideal for everyone. The New York Times referred to Granada as San Luis Obispo's "First Luxury Boutique Hotel", and as such the hotel is not ideal for guests seeking a traditional experience.
We would be delighted to discuss your stay further.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here recently for 3 nights mid-week and got a special rate due to the soft opening. The downtown location is perfect, never used our car.We loved the decor of the whole place from the lobby to the rooms. The rooms were gorgeous, with brick walls and a modern, classic decor that somehow mixed perfectly for a historical hotel. The towels were so luxurious and the soaps and shampoos were the best we've ever had. Reception desk and service was superb. Very professional and helpful for anything we needed from tips on the area to directions, always greeting us when returning from our outings. Some brand new bikes are available for guests to use and reception printed out directions to the bike path for us.

There is a beautiful indoor and outdoor sitting area upstairs around a fireplace The odd thing is that it is also part of the restaurant, so what first appears to be an area for the hotel guests, at night, is open for dining. When we first realized this we worried that our window, which opened out onto this beautiful patio would be noisy with dinner patrons. Though each night there was a large table of diners nearby on the patio we could not hear a thing through the window so they must have installed really thick glass realizing a potential issue. However, on the hallway side the noise does get through the door as we had a group of hotel guests on Friday night with their drinks using the hallway to gather and chat. We may hesitate on future weekend stays if it becomes a group gathering spot, and since the reception area closes at 11pm, it is up to you to try to politely ask your neighbors to quiet down. It is a bit odd to have restaurant patrons and restaurant staff on the route to and next to your room, but since we had the gorgeous indoor and outdoor areas to ourselves all day, we didn't mind the set up.

All in all, a beautiful historic boutique hotel with great attentive staff. We would love to return again if the rates do not go up too much.

Room Tip: On our last day we got a peek of 2 other rooms while housekeeping was cleaning. There was a gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila Beach, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Granada Hotel and Bistro is an ode to the day when rooms were rented by the hour. Hinting at its speakeasy style, this tiny wine den (formerly, Granada Bistro) turned provocative restaurant, lounge, and overnight sanctuary is located just off SLO’s downtown drag, where it escapes the hustle of Higuera street and feels like more like an underground getaway.

Granada emits a seductive aura, which strengthens as you near it from the playful streets of SLO. Setting itself apart from other downtown nightlife, Granada can be identified by the flickering fireplace on its rooftop deck (SLO’s only) overlooking a downstairs patio which offers sexy street front dining by candlelight.

Speaking to many, Granada’s restaurant and lounge reels in downtown dwellers, corporate folk, and creative artistic types to a luxe hangout where the indoors melts outside at nearly every corner. Inside, hand selected artwork echoes off original, exposed brick walls. It smells like history. In fact, most of the building’s historical significance was preserved in its recent restoration. And while everything is new, the space manages to feel nostalgic, coaxing you to disappear into a plush chair, or one of several alcoves scattered on both floors.

Delicious Southern American inspired food paired with the highest standard of execution made our evening completely hassle free. Not only does Granada offer fine dining, but fine beverage service. It’s likely the only place in SLO I’d trust my preferred drink of bartender’s choice. Being a weeknight, I found myself surprised by the sudden appearance of last call. Luckily, we had a room upstairs.

With showers overlooking the bedroom, Granada’s rooms are equally as suggestive as its restaurant & lounge. I was happy to find modern fixtures (all shiny and clean) diffused by vintage touches which gave it a gently worn character - overall drenching me in a warm welcome. We woke up to a hot cup of killer coffee, which in itself warrants another stay.

What excites me most, is that while Granada feels worldly and sophisticated, there is not the slightest sign of condescension. The front desk recognized us after our first meeting, the service staff was down to earth and professional, and our bartender was accommodating and friendly during his rush. Ultimately, our stay felt like home, with a serious edge.

I’d like to give a high five to the group who created such a rare gem in SLO!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San luis obispo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This brand new hotel is the only Hotel in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo. 17 distinct rooms with a very cool decor and vibe make this a special place. Throw in some amazing food and drink in the adjoining restaurant and the recipe for success is there.

Location couldn't be better and the parking lot in the rear of the hotel makes things easy. The 2nd floor patio is a perfect place for a sundowner.

Rooms were very quiet which was a potential concern due to its downtown location...couldn't hear any outside noise though.

Restaurant was delicious and innovative with a very positive and helpful staff.

The place has a definite cool vibe to it and reminds me of a boutique hotel one would find in Europe or Cape Town.

A definite must see!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granada Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Hotel and Bistro

Address: 1126 Morro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granada Hotel and Bistro 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant serving farm-to-table dishes inspired by Spanish cuisine. The hotel includes 17 rooms: 3 Classic, 10 Deluxe, and 4 Suites with balconies. The design exposes the raw elements of the original 1920's building. Each well-appointed room features original hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, antique Persian rugs, original artwork and the finest textiles. They are 100% non-smoking and offer air-conditioning, LCD flat-screen TVs, and bath products by C&O Bigelow and Kiki de Montoarnasse. Also included in the rate is a complimentary Linus Bikes for touring the area. Granada is situated in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo, making it easy for guests to enjoy a wide range of activities including wine tasting, hiking through the lush countryside, a day at the beach, golfing, or strolling downtown shops and restaurants. The world famous Farmers Market is located one block from the hotel, and is held every Thursday night. Oprah Winfrey and National Geographic recently named this ‘the happiest city in America’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Granada Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granada Hotel and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.