We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Prices - SLOW Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
305 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6500
805-782-9088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 228 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Reasonable Prices - SLOW Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Typical Applebee's chain restaurant, the food was good and the price was reasonable. The service was extremely SLOW though, couldn't believe how long it took for the entrees to arrive.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    25
    17
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Not wanting to spend to much but wanting something a little more substantial we headed off to Applebee's.

Husband ordered a steak, which he really enjoyed. Not the best steak he has had but nicely cooked with good mushroom and potatoes. He was happy.
I ordered the ribblets and they were also well cooked. Feel off the bone and had a nice spicy sauce. Fries were good.

Staff very friendly, restrauant clean, and ambience fine. Cost moderate.

Would drop in again if passing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great food, okay service, great management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The food was great, except that all 3 of our steaks were overcooked (ordered rare and medium rare, and they were almost well-done. They were still juicy and tasty, so we didn't send them back. Waitress didn't check on our meals until we were done, so offering to replace them was too late. The manager came by to apologize and gave everyone in our party (not just the steak eaters, all of us) desserts. The desserts were excellent especially the Blondie Brownee. More than worth the overdone steaks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

came in at 11:30 am service was sooooo slow. food was average. i asked for no cheese on my sandwhich due to lactose intolerance, and guess what? the sandwhich came with cheese anyway. the staff was very strange. meh

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

While sightseeing San Luis Obispo we had a great lunch at Applebees. Chinese Chicken Salad was served and very fresh. Staff very friendly. Great service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.