We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Motel to your Saves list
Villa Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1670 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We arrived around 1am and I felt so bad, we had to wake up the assistant at the front desk. He was very kind a d courteous, and sleepy. The room itself wasn't the most esthetic, but very clean and functional. I'm not that picky, so maybe that's why it did t read bother me. There just some cracks on the walls. The beds were fine and I would stay there again, if for nothing else, for the great customer service.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The room was quite dated, and noisy. The wall shook every time someone's door closed within a hundred feet of your room. The $50 price tag is in line with what you get....and nothing more. The biggest upside to this place is there are several decent restaurants within a two minute walk. There are other, nicer options in that immediate area - it might be worth looking there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were greeted late evening by a very pleasant woman who showed us a cozy room and offered a good price. Nice to be taken care of! Enjoyed the small feel of the place and the quiet neighbors. Matched the town of San Luis Obispo.
Could be a bit touched up inside the rooms for perfectionists, but totally adequate and clean.
Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Really good place for stayovers! Nice experience. Would recommend to others. Rooms are clean and hygienic.
Service was good. The kid working on the desk showed me the way to downtown and recommended some good restaurants. Talked to him for a while and he was really friendly.

Nice experience! Will be back.

Room Tip: The room was good for the price paid. The teenager working at the front desk was helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

They have a teenager kid as manager and this rude guy never know how to behave and talk with customers. I stayed there twice because everywhere else it was full. What they mentioned on website about their office hours is a lie. I checked in at 10.30 pm when office was closed and after a few minutes of bell hitting a kid opened door and he was so sad since i wake him up. He almost shut door on my face. Also I went to office at 8.30 am to get a towel and office was close. I tried ringing bell and they never opened it. It happened with me twice. I was so sad!
I went there again, at 10 am to drop the keys off and surprised to see a sign on the door 'manager will be back in 10 min'. I waited for 20 minutes and no one came. I was simply waiting to express my disappointment but I couldn't able to meet anyone. I never saw such signs any of other motels I have ever stayed.
Their prices are way higher than a their neighours and that's why they always have rooms available. Rooms are not bad but not worth money they charge. I just hate the service and I decided not to return again in this motel. I

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Small motel undergoing exterior renovation in December 2011. Rooms are large with open beam high ceilings. Our room had a new shower with lots of hot water. 19 inch basic TV. Wall heater worked well. Much better than one of the largest chain motels we stayed in the night before in Carpenteria. Room was clean. Manager friendly. Good location close to downtown. Paid $49 booking online.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Nice room, clean and big. Very old Indian men at the front desk, I was surprised someone so old still works, he barely speaks any English..breakfast non existant, just a biscuit that was aleready rotten and you have to go to the reception and ask for it! Location not so great but OK.
Free parking on the site, that's good and useful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Motel

Address: 1670 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 units 2 stories exterior corridors. Bath: combo or shower only. Free high speed wireless internet. Free parking on site. All rooms with refrigerator, coffee maker & hairdryer. Some rooms with microwaves. Outside pool. Complimentary breakfast. Close to downtown & Calpoly. Walking distance to restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hotel San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.