We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California Polytechnic University

California Polytechnic University
1 Grand Ave., San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
805-756-1111
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Environment was beautiful. Modern architecture and facilities excellent! The Flora is beautiful, I love the whole campus

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    36
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If you have to ask, ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you have to ask, ask any California high school student. Cal Poly SLO is widely regarded as the most selective of the California State University campuses, with particular strengths in Engineering and Agriculture, with an extremely competitive College of Business. Budget constraints mean that many of the classes are large, and the faculty have heavy teaching loads, but most faculty still find time to interact with the students. And even if the students aren't particularly academically inclined, they can enjoy the surf, and pleasant lifestyle of San Luis Obispo, Morro Bay, and Avila Beach, unless they flunk out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Gorgeous campus and worth driving through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

While we didn't take a tour, we delighted in driving through part of this lovely campus, parking, and walking around. It's worth the visit even if you're not visiting with prospective students!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Gorgeous campus and great tours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband graduated from Cal Poly years ago and we were showing our kids the campus. We decided to take them on a general tour and we loved it! Very friendly tour guide who was senior in the Engineering Dept. The tour was informative and it was just neat to see how much the campus had changed and grown since my husband graduated. We're hoping our kids choose to gothere too and it sure seems they want to. Cal Poly is a great school especially for anyone pursuing an engineering degree!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Top Choice for College”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My daughter is considering Cal Poly SLO for college, so we took a tour recently. It was our first time to this beautiful campus and we were impressed. The tour guides were all senior undergrads and were very enthusiastic about the school. Our guide, Michael, integrated just the right amount of facts and interesting information with a good dose of humor. We walked around most of the campus in about an hour. One drawback is we went during spring break and all of the eateries on campus were closed. Hard to believe that one can't find food for sale on a college campus even during a break!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Polytechnic University also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to California Polytechnic University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Polytechnic University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.