We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More College” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California Polytechnic University

California Polytechnic University
1 Grand Ave., San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
805-756-1111
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“More College”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Well structured lessons and program. Nothing to do but study in a great natural environment . The technology leaks over into all the other majors at Poly. Great English and writing program.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    36
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great college”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great college. Wonderful employees/students.
Best restaurant in town called, "Blue Sky Cafe." Should not tell you about it because it will get too popular.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best undergrad University.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Disclaimer I graduated in 1977. But I also have a Stepson who graduated in 2008 and another on who is still there. Hard to get into, you will be able to get a JOB when you graduate. Because you're taught by professors, not graduate students. Plus their majors are Real World majors, not something that may sound interesting, but has no practical use. Here's a hint for every University/major. Before you choose one go to their career center and see what and how many jobs that are being offered in that major. If there's zero, then chances are there'll be zero in four years. You don't want to be able to discuss Elizabethian poetry, when your job requires you to say "Do you want fries with that?"

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love their experience requirement...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

They require their students to intern to get practical, real world, experience. I've never met a student from here that wasn't a top notch well-rounded person.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visiting the campus while friends were in class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

As part of my vacation this year, friends that I am visiting had to take a couple of classes during the day. I found my way around the campus to keep myself occupied and found small restaurants, coffee shops and shopping dotted around the campus. There are a TON of relaxing locations to take out your headphones and laptop and just enjoy the weather! This campus has always put a smile on my face.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Polytechnic University also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to California Polytechnic University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Polytechnic University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.