We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Obispo Children's Museum

San Luis Obispo Children's Museum
1010 Nipomo St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
805-544-KIDS
Improve this listing
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Preschool through elementary-age children learn about health, history, safety, science, nature and the arts through a series of innovate hands-on activities and exhibits.
San Carlos, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went back to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum again this year. We have been here a number of times and even though my kids are older including a tween they all love it. There is something for everyone and it has become an annual pilgrimage of sorts. It is not a big museum, but it has plenty of activities to appeal to multiple ages of children. There are some science focused exhibits, a pretend doctors office and small outdoor play area to name a few of the activities. It is well worth a visit the next time you are in SLO.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the better small children's museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

They have exhibits and games for kids from 2 to 12 and are always relaxed about how long you stay. Coming and returning on the same day is something we have often done, especially when out grandchildren were young. There is both indoor and outdoor space.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stuck With The Kids? This is a great place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Don't know what to do with the kids? Although its a little pricey if you don't have a membership, this is a great place to take little ones in the 4-6 year old range, especially if they are visiting from out of town and everything will seem new. Some of the exhibits when I visited were looking a little worse for wear. Hopefully there has been a chance for refurbishment, next time I (have to) visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very cool experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We went on a special day where all the characters from Shrek the musical were there. The kids had a blast. There were musical performances, interactive games and crafts, and all the other fun things that are there on an everyday basis. There wasn't a dull moment. There was also a very cute dress up section that was great for fun pictures and the kids enjoyed playing on the stage in their costumes. This is a great place :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I teach preschool and this was a wonderful field trip for my students. Lots to explore, touch, climb and do here. Easy access for parking and small admission fee. Ages 2-11 would enjoy this.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Luis Obispo Children's Museum also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to San Luis Obispo Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Obispo Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.