We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, but tight quarters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Obispo Children's Museum

San Luis Obispo Children's Museum
1010 Nipomo St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
805-544-KIDS
Improve this listing
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Preschool through elementary-age children learn about health, history, safety, science, nature and the arts through a series of innovate hands-on activities and exhibits.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cute, but tight quarters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very well designed children's museum. They really took great pains to make it a logical lay out and work with the small amount of space they have. We took our then 18 month old there and he was entertained for well over 2 hours (huge accomplishment!). It's not that expensive and really offers a wide range of activities for kids of all ages. The interactive displays are well done. Most things are kept in top working order.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too little for too much money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This Children's Museum has many of the standard activities that are expected, but is lacking in creativity as far as I am concerned. It is fun for children 4 and under, but I found that my grandsons have outgrown it and the expense is way to much ~ $8 per person, including the child!
So at 4 and 6, we are moving on to other opportunities in this beautiful area. The Museum could use more scheduled art and craft activities, puppet shows, story time, etc.
Parking is another issue, since one has to put a quarter in for every 20 minutes ~ or walk several blocks from the nearest parking structure. There is not even a family-friendly restaurant within walking distance, so I cannot recommend this place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I really liked the old Museum before the remodel. It just has lost a little of it charm and it is a little more sterile environment. They have a new director and I hope they bring back more of the interactive displays. It is growing and that is a good thing with more displays outside.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not Just for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is awesome. I went to take my kids to a birthday party here and was amazed by the cool stuff. It brought out my curious, little kid, and adventuresome spirit. Did I mention that is was well priced, which makes it even cooler. Good fun at a cheap price, can't beat that. And it was a good bonding time with my kids too. If you have kids that have any interest in anything, then you should visit this place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Museum for 5 and under”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This museum is perfect for about 5 and under with many exhibits to explore. The top floor is perfect for very young kids. A great place to go when it's too rainy outside to do anything else and kids 2 and under are free.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Luis Obispo Children's Museum also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to San Luis Obispo Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Obispo Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.