We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar Food - Now Called Pappy McGregor's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pappy McGregor's Pub

Pappy McGregor's Pub
1865 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2613
805-543-5458
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 228 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Pappy McGregor's Pub & Grill has an atmosphere that blend's Irish and American traditions. Always lively, always fun and always busy, Pappy McGregor's is just the right place for you to have a cold pint, eat a great meal, and meet up with new and old friends. Our executive chefs, brothers Chris & Martin Beckett, have created an extensive menu made up of gastro pub quality items. We strive for every plate to be a work of art that's better than any other typical pub. Our creative menu is made up of comfort food favorites like the Prime Rib Sandwich, Steak & Shrooms, Farm Stand BLTA, Grilled Cheese, and Tomato Bisque. We also feature a wide variety of seafood dishes like the locally famous fried Calamari, Raw Blue Point Oysters, Fresh Halibut & Chips, and Oysters Rockefeller. Our Prime Rib Chili and Lobster Mac and Cheese have both won multiple awards in local food competitions. Pappy McGregor's Pub & Grill proudly features fully stocked bars, with more than 150 sprits, imported beer, and an extensive craft beer list. We support our local wineries and feature only local wine from San Luis Obispo Co. Come by for our daily Pappy Hour or join us for our multiple weekly evening specials and events like Pub Trivia Night, Karaoke, and Live Music. Pappy McGregor's always has the big games on with our plenty of TVs you won't miss a second of your favorite team. When you're in uptown San Luis Obispo, stop by Pappy McGregor's Pub & Grill and see why we have been voted Best Bar/Pub for 8 straight years. You won't be disappointed no matter if its food, drink or a good time you are looking for.
Kingman, Arizona
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great Bar Food - Now Called Pappy McGregor's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Good bar food, nice servers, friendly place!
See recent reviews under "Pappy McGregor's", this Pub is no longer called Crooked Kilt.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    42
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great Bar Food - Used to be Crooked Kilt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Staying in a motel on Monterey Street for a couple of weeks and this Pub/Restaurant is right down the street (within walking distance of many motels). The Pub has a slight Irish / Scottish feel to it, very comfortable and friendly.
I stopped by here for a simple dinner so I elected to eat at the bar (the evening music was warming up so I wanted a good seat).
I made it for Happy Hour (prior to 6PM, don't remember when it starts) and ordered the Prime Rib Nachos...boy was I happy with this choice. I have to mention that I like my food spicy, so this meal did not disappoint...so be careful. This was a huge Nacho plate, enough for a dinner. The meal showed up quickly, hot, and fresh.
The bartender was very friendly, not pushy, and willing to have a conversation.
I will go here again while staying in SLO.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We usually go to listen to Irish music. Check before you go to see if they are having Irish music that night becouse they don't always have it. The nachoes I had were good. We did hear a good group there but I don't remember the name or day.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

when you stay at the Best Western Somerset they give you 10% off they are great

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Visit Pappy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Love to stop in at Pappy's when we're in SLO. Inviting, though I am not a big drinker, this place has a couple of great bars, really great food and their music is great. This pub has it all. It's two stories , lots of room and inviting space to watch sports, catch up with friends, and enjoy your evening. We were once here and they had Bag Pipes which was such a treat. The management is welcoming and the service is very good. There's a server there that is close to my heart, her name mirrors the name of this place, go in and say Hi!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy McGregor's Pub also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Pappy McGregor's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappy McGregor's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.