We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a trip in area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for a trip in area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was there for business. Great hotel. VERY nice front desk staff. Good breakfast - hot and different choices on the two days I was there.

Right off the highway and about 5-10 minutes from downtown SLO. if you are there, this is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo. We are so glad your stay was a success. We love to hear our guest comments about our hotel.
We look forward in seeing you the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sinerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    100
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
98
69
11
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great rooms, staff, and service. We were there for a water polo tournament and book 15 rooms. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet. I did not hear a simple complaint from any of our parents or players. The best part of the stay is complimentary breakfast. I can't express how much easier a trip is when you can feed the family or team with no additional cost or loss of time. I look forward to staying at the San Luis Obispo location again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your great comments about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo. We are so happy that your group had a great time. We look foward in serving your group again the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We weren't disappointed at our stay here. Everything is within our expectation. It's very clean. It has fridge. Very happy to stay here. We went down to have our breakfast quite late and the food was gone fast as it was holiday weekend. I heard that it was full the night we checked in. Will definitely come back here again whenever we are near the central California beach again.

Room Tip: We stay at 3rd level and it was a great stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your great comments about your last stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites. It's great to hear that your stay was a success. We love to hear feedback from our guest. We take great pride in serving our guest and make them feel like they are at home.
We look forward in seeing you the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Outstanding hotel and staff. Great location. Walking distance to shopping centers. Few miles from town. Only negative comment. First night. People above me let their kids run from one end of the room to the other and jump off the beds. Extremely rude. Brought to hotel staff's attention. Matter was resolved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments about your last stay with us. I'm so sorry for the noisy children above you. I am glad that the staff had taken care of the issue during your stay.
We look forward in seeing you again the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Enjoyed our first time staying in a Hapmton Inn & Suites. San Luis Obispo, CA location hotel was fairly new. The only semi complaint would be to make the beds more soft as they are pretty hard to sleep on. The towels could be a little thicker and if possible, improve on the hot omelets so that they don't taste like it was from a frozen package and heated up. Rooms where very clean, linens clean, quiet rooms mostly on top 4th floor so you don't have anyone walking over you like we did our first night stay of 6 nights when we were on the 2nd floor. We didn't hear much traffic even having a room facing highway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obipso. We take our guest comments very seriously and have a strong commitment to our customers and take pride in doing our utmost best for every person we encounter.
We look forward in serving you again the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

As a hilton honors diamond member I expect a high level of service. I had booked a 3 night points stay. Delayed due to a monsoon. Called to say I would arrive by noon the following day. Did not ask, nor did I expect a refund on points but did expect my room would be ready upon arrival. Was told there was no reservation for me when I arrived and had to argue with management for 15 mins before was given a room. They said there were no notes that I had called. Room was not serviced at all on July 5th. Flight delay for my outbound flight. Called to ask for late checkout until 4pm (flight at 7pm) was told could extend to 2pm but not later than that without a full one night charge. Called hilton honors desk and was granted extension until 3pm. I was so upset filed a complaint with the honors desk. If you are an honors member it means nothing to the people running this hotel. I do not recommend.

Room Tip: This property is right off the 101. Rooms very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear guest, I am sorry that you had issues and concerns during your stay with us. We have a strong commitment to our customers and take pride in doing our utmost best for every person we encounter.
We hope your will give us another try the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I am a local in San Luis obispo and stayed in this hotel while I was moving. The hotel is one of the newest hotels in the area and it provides quality and great service.
Slo has many hotels around the area but the Hampton provides a great experience and rate.
Rooms are clean and are pretty new.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
This hotel is next to the freeway, as many hotels in the area are. The freeway noise dies at night and it's not a disturbance, unless you are just picky and stupid enough to realize most hotels will have rooms facing the freeway or a Main Street and no hotel will have sound proof windows in all of San Luis.
The hotels breakfast is typical for Hampton inns and it's of great value for families specially.
Definately a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear loyal Hampton Inn guest, thank you for your great comment about your last stay with us at the Hampton Inn & suites San Luis Obispo, Ca. We are so glad you had a great stay.
My staff and I would like to thank you again for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites and we look forward in servicing you again.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.