We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, fantastic rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, fantastic rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a road trip and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. The hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly, helpful staff. The rooms were amazing, you'd have to pay triple the price in the UK to get a similar standard of room. The rooms were well equipped and clean, the bed was amazingly comfortable and breakfast was lovely. The reception gave us a takeaway menu so we could order food in which was superb with lots of choice. My only regret is that we only got to stay for one night. Highly recommend to anyone....fabulous experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    130
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
118
85
14
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a new hotel , it is located near the freeway , easy in and out, the room that I had was spacious, I did not have the morning breakfast since I left early. One nice option was that I could open the windows by about 3 inches for fresh air. I was staying in the front of the hotel facing the freeway and sound proofing was excellent. Within 1 mile you will find restaurants, Target and Costco..etc...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurupa Valley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was the first time my wife and I were able to use our points. That was a pleasant bonus to an exceptional stay. Of the many Hamptons we have stayed at, this one was outstanding. Something we noticed almost immediately was the attentiveness and cleanliness of the facility in all areas--outside, lobby, breakfast area, and especially the rooms. Staff was always present, but discreet. The "fresh sheet" post-it notes were awesome. Staff on the telephone for a minor special request, and in person, were terrific and very professional. This was clearly not an "under-staffed" burnt-out group. I observed an obviously cranky traveler spoiling for a battle over a simple matter which was resolved rapidly and had the appearance of going far beyond normal duties to please this patron. I believe the expression is "love-bombed". I felt very comfortable and plan on many returns at this San Luis Obispo facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The quality of the breakfast was far below the quality we have come to expect from Hampton Inn. Scrambled eggs we like rubber; bacon like nothing I've ever tasted nor ever want to again; stale bagels; etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of your breakfast that you experienced during your stay. We are working to improve our offerings and welcome your comments. We hope you will come back and give us a second chance the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I highly recommend Hampton Inn and Suites for anyone looking for a great hotel within the San Luis Obispo area. The staff is very helpful, the breakfast is great, rooms extremely clean, and the sheets feel wonderful after a long day of adventures.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel could not have been more convenient for us. It is right off the main freeway from Santa Barbara area.
Hotel is nice and clean with good pool area. It is exactly what you would expect from a Hampton Inn. It did not disappoint.

Be sure to visit the Avila farm nearby. The kids had a good time and there are tasty treats for all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We attended the Roll Out the Barrels Wine Tasting in San Luis Obispo and stayed at the Hampton Inn. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were quite nice, and the complimentary breakfast was much more than we expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.