We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for San Luis Obispo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reno, United States
1 review
“Good price for San Luis Obispo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good hotel if doing business with Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo. The rates were reasonable and the service was decent. Our company will stay again next time we are in the area. I give the hotel a B- overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    106
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
103
69
12
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is such a great hotel, with a very convenient location. The lobby was clean and attractive, breakfast was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff was warm and welcoming. I will definitely stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Easy to find, and jump on and off the 101 from the hotel location. Super clean, comfortable, and easy to park and check in. It is in it's own little island of hotels, not really within walking distance to any retail/food, but if you have a car it isn't a problem. FREE WIFI! Madonna Inn is about two exits away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Have recently switched he'd from holiday inn and holiday inn express and have found that Hilton and Hampton provide a slightly better experience though in fairness you do pay a little more.

This was my first experience of Hampton and I like it. In particular the breakfast offering is some way ahead of the artery congealing offer at Holiday Inn Express.

The room was sufficient for. Family of 4 for 1 or 2 nights but I would not wish to spend longer.

The reception staff were polite efficient and welcoming but the lady at breakfast was clearly not having a great day. Still it did not mar the experience.

It is conveniently located and there are ample places to eat around the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was a nice experience until the guest next door stated to snore. The walls between the rooms have no or very poor sound insulation. It was like the snorer was laying next to me. I called the reception desk and asked for their help. They said since the hotel was full there was nothing they could do. Not even ear plugs to offer. So my wife and I spent almost $200 for a night of NO sleep. I can't believe that a brand new hotel cold be designed and approved with such poor sound insulation. The solution would be to inject insulation in the walls between the rooms.

The breakfast was just OK and seating was limited.
The cookies at the reception ...”MARVELOUS”

The indoor pool and Jacuzzi were quite nice, protected from the wind.

The gym had minimal equipment. But that is the way most hotels are.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Newer Hampton Inn in San Luis Obispo. Great stay! Comfortable beds, fresh duvet covers. Flat screen TVs, free internet access, free parking, complimentary hot breakfast. Breakfast was very good...a number of options from eggs, meat, waffles, yogurt, cereal, bread and pastries, and fresh fruit. In quiet area with the beautiful SLO hills in the background! Very clean and nicely appointed. Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hampton Inn is one of the few hotel chains that, in my experience, is always a HOTEL, not a motel masquerading as a hotel. It is consistent across the board for me, so far. The front desk is pleasant and helpful. The remotes actually work. I can hook up my computer to most of the TVs. I get a microwave. And the internet always works. This hotel was no exception.

Pros: The front desk greeted me and got me checked in quickly. My daughter and I could bring up all our belongings in one fell swoop, being as this hotel has an elevator. The TV worked, the remote worked, the internet worked. The room was clean. There was plenty of parking. Ice was where it was supposed to be. Outlets available on tabletop lamps. I didn't hear the people next door.

Cons: The comforters on the beds were so heavy that if you pushed them to one side, it was hard to get them back over you. The breakfast was a little slim compared to most Hampton Inns.

Bottom line: A great place to kick back for a few hours and get some sleep.

Room Tip: I have not yet had a bad room in any of the Hampton Inn I have stayed at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.