We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very convenient with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is fairly close to the airport (10 minutes) and is new. There is shopping and restaurants 5-10 minutes aways (driving).I did not have issues with the complimentary breakfast as it was not crowded. The biggest issue is that there is nothing within walking distance to eat unless you like a greasy spoon diner. I only stayed here for one night and there were no surprises (positive or negative).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    94
    16
    11
    3
See reviews for
91
60
9
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

While involved in business in the San Luis Obispo area I recently was a guest of this motel for several weeks. It is located at the South end of town - off of Los Osos Rd. The facility is a 4 story 84 unit motel. Finding the entrance to the parking lot is a bit tricky, especially at night and could be getter signed. The motel is located on a odd shaped lot and the views are not inspiring or interesting. This is a "straight forward" motel - what you see is what you get. You do get free parking, a nice breakfast and cookies at night; a free newspaper; and free internet connections. Do expect some traffic noise from the nearby freeway. This is not a destination resort. It is a excellent value however and the rooms are very nice and relatively new. The rooms contain a workdesk, moderate sized flat screen TV, a couch, a wetbar, small refrig and microwave. The staff is very very nice and will always give you a smile. This was an excellent value for the money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here as part of an extended-family road trip and for our foursome it was our first time staying in SLO proper. LOVED this property - well-constructed with no noise issues (TownPlace Suites, I'm looking at you), and a large flat-panel TV with ACTUAL HD PROGRAMMING! Yes I am shouting - in this price range, too many hotels we've stayed in have an HD television but only standard-def programming. This goes toward the concept that yes we may spend most of the day out of the room, but when in for the night we like to kick back with a beverage, snacks, TV and wi-fi, and Hampton gets that. (If you have an Ethernet cable, bring it and plug it into the desk/lamp connection.)

Would love to visit again, but they're booked next weekend!

To the earlier comments about crowded breakfast areas: yes. We are early birds and foodies and were able to have coffee and a family meeting at 6 AM in the breakfast area, and later two of us walked down the street to the New Frontiers market which opened at 8 AM. Our intention was to return to the hotel and have more coffee and taste some of our purchases, but the breakfast area was crowded by then. Margie's Diner up Calle Joaquin has had great fresh food in the past, but we didn't get there this time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went for 3 nights to visit family for Thanksgiving. All in all the hotel is reasonably priced and clean. The down side is the complimentary breakfast....the dining area is small, and no matter what time we arrived...crowded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back, as over the parking lot one hears noise from 101 freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A new hotel right by the freeway, but still quiet inside. Rooms are nice and we got a handicap room. A good feature that you'd only notice if you were in a wheelchair (as I am) is that the tile entryway runs into the bathroom with no 'bump' of a threshold. Walking people don't care, but it's a nice feature for us disabled folks. Breakfast was pretty good too. For what it is (chain hotel) it's a superb example. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

On a girls trip on the coast we decided to stop for the night in San Luis Obispo. Not sure where the best place to stay was we read reviews and decided to stay here since it was right off Hwy 101, seemed to be in a safe area, and pricing was reasonable. Glad we did! Restaurants are just down the street and access to the Hwy is easy. Room was clean, quiet, beds were comfortable and breakfast had plenty of variety (waffles, pastries, oatmeal, eggs..etc.) I plan on driving the coast again with my husband and would definitely stay here a second time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your "girls weekend" in San Luis Obispo. I will certainly pass on your kind remarks to my staff. We look forward to your next visit with your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldiers Grove, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were there for the wedding of a granddaughter. The rooms were very nice, super clean and they treated us well. We used a conference room for a family get-together meeting place and had a great time with our family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.