We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable New Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable New Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is new. The room was clean with a very comfortable bed..The bathroom was spacious. The location is outside of the San Luis Obispo city proper but easily accessible with the freeway next to hotel. The parking is a little tight with somewhat limited parking in front, there is another lot in back which I can be use for overflow. The staff was friendly and helpful. Check-in and out was done with ease.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    128
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
118
83
13
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have to say, on arriving here our hearts sank a little. The hotel is a little out of the main town and is sandwiched between two very busy roads. It has no outdoor space (you can see a little pool of the motel next door from the window near the elevator when you go up a few floors in this hotel ..) but there you go, nothing is perfect!

If you could pick this hotel up and put it down in the country it would be absolutely amazing. It is a great modern hotel which has been well built and by that I mean we never heard a thing from any of our fellow guests even though the hotel looked to be completely full.

Nice little indoor pool and a well equipped gym which we used. It also has a guest laundry.

Lobby is smart and modern and looks clean and airy. Next to the lobby is the open area where they serve a buffet style breakfast each morning. The breakfasts are great! Lovely porridge (or should that be oatmeal?) with fresh fruit. As much toast as you want and for those wanting something hot, there were scambled eggs and some small turkey sausage type of things one morning and an omelette and burger the next. Unlimited tea and coffee and juice.

The room we had was enormous. It was nice to see some funky carpet and interesting wallpaper! Bed was extremely comfortable. The rooms come with a small kitchen area although not much in it - fridge, sink etc. Bathroom was a good size and very clean. It can get a little noisy from the roads but the air con seemed to cover most of the truck noise up.

There are a couple of places to eat within walking distance but we didn't fancy them so drove down the road both nights which is a bit of a shame as it would have been good to leave the car behind for once but no big deal. As it is close to the major roads, then it is easy to get back to other places within the area for days out.

I don't think you would take a holiday here, but for a couple of nights it was an excellent base and we enjoyed being in a modern well built hotel with good facilities. Good price as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

If I could give a 4.5 star rating I would. My wife and I had a fantastic experience at this hotel. Our room was immaculate and all of the staff were very enthusiastic and friendly.

Pros:
+ Very clean room.
+ Great staff (very friendly and professional)
+ Awesome breakfast (waffle makers, oatmeal, bacon, sausage, cereal, pastries, yogurt, fruit, milk, juice, coffee, tea, bread, muffins, etc).
+ DirectTV with plenty of channels (HD on a lot of them)
+ Large Jacuzzi and moderate size pool.
+ Decent water pressure (even on the 4th floor).
+ Free cookies at the front desk in the afternoons.

Neutral:
- Rooms were a little on the small size (still a very reasonable value though).
- The hotel is on the outskirts of town so you'll need to drive for food and .

Cons:
- The location of the hotel is close to hwy 101 so you can faintly hear the traffic when AC is on.

Tips:
- Go during a weekday. We had the pool and Jacuzzi all to ourselves!
- Check around for deals before buying. We got a deal at Expedia for 10% off each night.

We'll definitely consider staying here again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I visit San Luis Obispo a few times a year and usually stay at Hilton Honors properties so I was eager to give this new property a try. It was a top of the line, newly constructed Hampton Inn, so it has a much more upscale feel than older Hampton properties.

The grounds were well-kept as well, and it was right off of Hwy 101 and yet had a secluded feel to it. I look forward to returning!

(Please forgive me, I gave 5 dots for restaurant & room service....this property has neither but I didn't see a way once I clicked on them to select n/a)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Looks like to me the hotel is sparkling clean and practically brand new. My aunt and uncle stayed here as well. We all loved and enjoyed our stay. Everyone was so pleasant and courteous. Very nice hotel and great location between Morro Bay and Pismo Beach. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a newer Hampton Inn. it had all the amenities one would expect for a Hampton Inn, but extra nice. You could tell that the staff were committed to making it a great stay for their guests. They were friendly and attentive. The hotel and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Great one night stay. Will definitely be back next time we're in SLO.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our hotel and our attentive staff. I will be sure to pass your message along! We take pride in our new hotel and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to SLO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This Hampton Inn was a breath of fresh air after staying at an inferior one in San Diego. Everything here is sparkling clean and the decor is modern and nice. It's right off the highway going into San Luis Obispo, so it's a convenient location as long as you have a car. I was particularly impressed with the breakfast room, which is spacious and imaginatively decorated. We stayed two nights and visited the Hearst Castle and a couple of wineries. I am just a little perturbed by the Hampton Inn marketing campaign that brags about laundering the sheets and duvet covers for each guest stay. Shouldn't we always expect clean sheets?

Room Tip: Our room was quiet despite proximity to the highway. You probably can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.