We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Californian Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added HI San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
HI San Luis Obispo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI San Luis Obispo
1617 Santa Rosa St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Hostel Obispo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Springfield, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Californian Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stopping off at HI Obispo was a small miracle. Traveling alone, this hostel provided much needed socialization with friendly people doing interesting things with their life. It is clean, the bed comfortable and they offer free sourdough pancakes - the best pancakes ever! Everyone is very nice and welcoming. I even lucked out to stay during the music and potluck day! Great hostel all around! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
6
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

STAY HERE!!!!!!

For the last year and a half I have traveled all of the united states and stayed in every major hostelling organization in America. In general, the hostelling scene is an unknown gem in American travelling, which is a huge misfortune but...anyone who knows the hostel scene and tavels through these parts know that the Obispo Hostel is a gem in a gem.

Warm environment, clean living area, free parking, accomidating staff and free breakfast it is hard to believe such a place exists in the neighborhood. Like all hostels, it is located in the most prime part of town near everything.

There is nothing else to say than, stay here, be welcomed and continue your journey a better version of yourself.

Room Tip: plenty of power outlets, no worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed here one night as I was passing through San Luis Obispo. The place is very clean, in a great location, with very friendly and helpful staff. In the evening, I hung out in the common space, reading and chatting with staff and other guests, and had a great time meeting some really nice people. I stayed in a dorm room and my bed was clean and very comfortable. Slept like a baby and woke up to some great coffee and pancakes! It was the exact experience I was looking for after a long day of motorcycle riding. I would definitely go back here and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I didnt ask for much, but they gave me everything. When I needed help, they were there for me like family. That's what you will find when you stay in this house of strangers, located in probably the happiest home in America. Don't be shy to contribute to the good vibes, and have some pancakes.

Room Tip: Take whatever is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I dont know why, but the house was super neat, clean and everybody was incredible friendly and helpful. the price was cheap and the rooms are really pretty. A helping hand, a room to stay and a second home you will find.

Thanks guys you made my stay my honour.

Room Tip: Morro Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed here overnight as we were passing through on a roadtrip. Were instantly greeted by many a smiling face, showed to a comfortable room and invited to join the staff and other for a home cooked meal (which was delicious). I was sick when i arrived and it was the perfect place to get some rest, there were extremely comfy couches and a fire place, and just a generally chilled and cosy vibe. I highly recommend this place - really friendly staff and a great place to just hang out.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

definitly a good place to stop ! i hightly recommand it. nice staff, pancakes in the morning, you'll feel like home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HI San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI San Luis Obispo

Address: 1617 Santa Rosa St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Hostel Obispo)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your HI San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.