We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, but not for a romantic getaway.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heritage Inn B&B to your Saves list
Heritage Inn B&B
978 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
san jose, ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fine, but not for a romantic getaway.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Heritage Inn B&B is fine. It is clean. The host is friendly. Breakfast is good, though not fancy. But I would not suggest it for a romantic getaway.

First, the rooms tend to be on the small side. We opted for a room with a bathroom, and the shower is very small (my husband had to duck to avoid hitting his head). Second, while it is a nice place, it is not luxurious. For the rate of the room, I expected a down comforter and a few more amenities, but this really is a straightforward B&B with no frills. Third, it is basically located on an on/off ramp for 101, surrounded by cheap motels--not exactly a charming location, although it is convenient to downtown or 101 (obviously), and we did not have an issue with freeway noise. Finally, our room shared a wall with the community bathroom/bath tub. Some other guests, at 1 a.m., decided that was the time for a "bath tub" party. Three or four of them were in there, laughing and making a lot of noise. It was awkward for us and just plain weird, but since the host does not live in the B&B and we didn't know how to contact her without walking outside to the host quarters we just dealt with it. Then the noisy guests went downstairs and played music. I have never stayed in a B&B with such thoughtless individuals before--usually I like the people we meet at B&Bs.

If you need a place to stay while visiting Cal Poly or in town for work, this functions quite well. If you're looking for a romantic escape with your significant other, keep looking--this is not the spot. I also think other guests, for whatever reason (timing?) chatted with the host more and got suggestions for restaurants and things to do. That was not my experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    13
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
55
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viiejo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We had an incredible weekend at the Heritage Inn Bed and Breakfast. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the location was very close to shops and dining, and most importantly, the innkeeper went above and beyond to show us the best hospitality we have experienced in a long time. She provided a warm and inviting environment to enjoy a lovely weekend where we could relax and enjoy good company. Breakfast was magnificent as well. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Terrie the B&B Manager made our stay special with her friendly personality and her terrific breakfasts. The B&B is charming, we like the creek that runs beside it and the warm cozy fireplaces.
We were here with friends celebrating our husbands birthdays which happen to be on the same day. She went out of her way to make sure our experience was memorable. Terrie surprised our husbands with party hats and birthday cards on thier birthdays. We will come back again with family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

My husband and I (and our dog) spent New Year's Eve at the Heritage Inn and all of our expectations were exceeded. We wanted a quiet, away from the bar-scene kind of New Years Eve. The gracious innkeeper and hostess, Terri gave us a warm welcome that included local info, a map and suggestions on where to go and to eat. Our room was the Mountain View; small but clean with private bathroom and a great view with a balcony overlooking the rushing creek. Outside, stairs lead to a lovely and fairly large creek perfect for the dog or sitting on the chairs to relax. Terri set up reservations for us (and others) to have dinner at the Spyglass Inn and attend a comedy show. After, she hosted a New Years Eve reception with sparkling wine, plenty of food and great conversation with local friends and out-of-town guests. I believe she may be doing something for Valentine's day as well.
Dog-friendly and no extra fee, but not allowed in dining or common area as to be expected. Breakfast the following morning was nice; great selection of hot/cold cereals, toast, yogurt, juices, a homemade veggie frittata, bacon...coffee, tea, etc.
Everything and more than you would expect from a Bed and Breakfast. It's places like this that keep us going to B&B's.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erewhon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I greatly enjoyed staying at the Heritage Inn. Susanne, the hostess, was friendly and welcoming. She shared many tips with us regarding restaurants in downtown SLO (about a 10-minute drive from the Inn), hiking trails, etc. Our room was cozy and warm (this being the "winter" season, warmth matters).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

The Heritage Inn is simply the best place to stay in San Luis Obispo.

Susanne the owner has a special talent for making you feel so welcome and relaxed as soon as you step onto the porch (with rocking chair and resident cat to greet you). Nothing is too much trouble to her and she makes sure your every need is catered for.

The Heritage Inn is the most comfortable place we stayed in during our 2 week trip in America and we stayed in several expensive 4* hotels.

The Inn is extremely clean and comfortable. The walls are littered with interesting quirky information about the Inn. Their are magazines and books and comfortable sofa's to rest on.
The rooms are all styled differently and the little touches make it all very so very special....the chocolates on the pillows, the fresh roses in the bedrooms, the smell from the big displays of lillies in most of the rooms downstairs, the warm cookies when you return from a night out, the old fashioned comfortable beds (which gave us the best nights sleep in over a week) the complimentary glass of wine drunk whilst sitting by the creekside at the back of the Inn, the wonderful breakfast of home made quiche (which we had smelt cooking when we woke up), the jar of honey provided to help my daughters cough, the recommendation and booking of a restaurant for us on the night of our arrival.

We arrived feeling somewhat jaded and a bit frazzled and left feeling totally relaxed and thoroughly spoilt. I cannot recommend The Heritage Inn enough, it's a wonderful , special place to stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I would recommend this B&B for a stay in the San Luis area. My husband and I booked a room 2 days out for a last minute stay and it was perfect! The owner was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was good and the amenities were what we needed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn B&B

Address: 978 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn Bed And Breakfast
Heritage Hotel San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.