We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B, felt like we were with family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heritage Inn B&B to your Saves list
Heritage Inn B&B
978 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B, felt like we were with family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We just returned from our visit to San Luis Obispo and The Heritage Inn. Having never stayed at a bed and breakfast before we were a little hesitant about privacy, noise and shared bathrooms. Boy, were we blown away. The house is amazing and we rarely saw the other guests- only at breakfast. The breakfast was amazing and we woke up each morning to the smells of cinnamon cake and quiche. Only complaint- the Two Buck Chuck wine that was served at night. Being in wine country, we expected something a little more. But, the bathrooms were spotless and the house mostly quiet except for the traffic on Saturday night. Lisa, the host, was friendly and helpful with dinner recommendations. We are already planning a trip back in August. The Inn made the trip- a great place to return to at night and wake up in the morning.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the street- try Grandpas rm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    13
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
55
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We are not really B and B people, but this might have changed that. We were so welcomed by the woman who works at the inn, Lisa, we felt completely taken care of. The cookies were lovely, the rooms very sweet, and breakfast was delicious. All and all a great visit. Our kids loved it too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband and I (and our dog) chose the Heritage Inn for another weekend away and all of our expectations were met and exceeded for the 2nd time. The gracious innkeeper and hostess gave us a warm welcome. Yes, the rooms are small but they are comfortable and clean. We stayed in the Jasmine room and preferred it to the Mountain View room from our last stay. Outside, stairs lead to a lovely and fairly large creek perfect for the dog or sitting on the chairs to relax. Eve reception with wine, cheese/crackers, freshly-made brownies etc. and great conversation with other out-of-town guests.
Dog-friendly and no extra fee, but not allowed in dining or common area as to be expected. Breakfast the following morning was nice; great selection of hot/cold cereals, toast, yogurt, juices, an egg dish, coffee, tea, etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at Heritage Inn, SLO while visiting our son who studies there. We were welcomed so graciously and warmly by Lisa and her awesome brownies! Next morning, when I asked her if a friend of our son could also join us for breakfast, she welcomed the idea with a big smile. The brunch was awesome, the wonderful hash brown crusted quiche, fresh fruit (i.e. heart shaped water melon pieces!!!!) and variety of coffee cakes, etc. SCRUMPTIOUS especially when combined with her good sense, comments and recommendations... From now on, this is the only place in SLO where we will stay... ABSOLUTELY AWESOME.... ;-)))

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is one of those reviews that create ambivalence in the writer - Heritage Inn is so great that I fear it will become very popular and I won't be able to get a reservation next time I want to stay there!! From making the reservation (Lisa, the innkeeper is the most gracious person I have ever encountered at a B&B), to arrival, to helping with dinner (Lisa went and got take-out for me), to an absolutely gourmet breakfast (blueberry stuffed cream cheese french toast), all were wonderful, friendly experiences. I can't stop giving praise and neither can Diva, my dog who enjoyed it as much as I did. This is the place to stay, especially if you are traveling with a dog-companion. Gorgeous yard with creek running through it compensates for being situated next to motels on either side - don't let that bother you because Heritage Inn is quiet and so very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This B & B is reasonably priced for the area. It has not been renovated for awhile, but the rooms are clean and charming. While the location might not seem ideal, it is located at the 101/1 freeways, it is still quiet and easy to find. Our room had a shared bath, but we were there on a weeknight and were the only guests. It did have a fireplace and very comfortable bed. The breakfast was generous and well prepared. Wine was served in the sitting room in the afternoon. It would have been nice to have some cheese and crackers to go with it. The innkeeper was friendly and engaging, but gave us space. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This is the most relaxing place I've ever stayed (I travel domestically and internationally 1/3 of my time for work). It's a wonderful old manor house within easy walking distance of both downtown and Cal Poly. The fireplace in the bedroom, a cozy living room with the paper in the morning and wine in the evening, a great home cooked breakfast by Georgia herself... I felt a welcomed guest. The place is clean and neat without feeling institutionally sterile, safe and secure instead of deadbolted and chained like a standard hotel. I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn B&B

Address: 978 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn Bed And Breakfast
Heritage Hotel San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.