We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urbane Cafe

Urbane Cafe
952 Higuera St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
805-541-5100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 265 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Super delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We frequent urbane cafes whenever we find them..and this one was a stand out! First off..their was lots of beautiful wood in the decor..and they had booths to sit in..in a very large seating area. Much bigger and more decorated than any urbane cafe I had ever stayed before. The food had some new choices as well..such as the kale salad..which was very good. We had our usual Baja chicken sandwich..a warm gooey cheesy sandwich with a side salad..and enjoyed the kale salad later with our dinner. Very good..clean.tasty..at a great value.try it..you will be very happy if you live good..healthy flavorful sandwiches n salads.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“For Lunch or Light Dinner this place is a real winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a wonderful location, menu, staff, and food! well now that I have summed it up, how about some details! The salad was wonderful, and the baby arugula is my wife's favorite and she was raving. The vegetarian sandwich I had was The Californian and it was perfect. Just perfect. Artichoke hearts, avocado, herb mayo, jack cheese and well yum! Now mix all that up with a seat on the patio in front and wow! The people watching goes on and on and on and I guess I am to going on and on and on!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Bordering on 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

An excellent sandwich in a great time frame! Seating is on the street so you can people watch as you eat. They offered a wide array of salads, but the Hot Pastrami got me! The place is clean, well run, and the fresh bread is a plus!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Innovative, fresh salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Ate here while shopping in downtown SLO; fresh, yummy & innovative salads! Have eaten here before & we have never been disappointed. If you're looking for quick, fresh food (not sit down with table service) this is the perfect spot....enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were disappointed with the food at Urbane. I ordered broccoli cheddar soup - it was watery and bland. And I ordered the grown-up grilled cheese sandwich - it contained 3 different types of cheese and avocado. It sounded really - how can you go wrong with ingredients as tasty as cheese and avocado? but unfortunately, this sandwich lacked flavor. My husband ordered the cobb salad. He thought it was good but not great. And for the cost of the our lunch we didn't feel that the value was great. With so many restaurants in San Luis I would skip this place and go some place else.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urbane Cafe also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Urbane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urbane Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.