We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sidecar

Sidecar
1127 Broad Street, San Luis Obispo, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sidecar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 257 restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

One of the best burgers I have ever had! It was served by a busy but extremely attentive waiter who had sent his colleague home because she was unwell. Service was diligent, polite and friendly: a difficult combination to achieve. My son left his Dodgers cap at the restaurant, and I called them from LA about a week after. They had the cap and mailed it to us at no charge. Sidecar is one of these special place that make SLO a unique destination in California. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    12
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Amazing food with funky vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've been to Sunday brunch twice... Really great. This time I had a hamburger with Brie and fig marmalade. Really amazing. The Sidecar Mule is a fun twist in the traditional Moscow mule. Definitely recommend. Call for reservations!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cool vibe and laid back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

side car is the place to go for top notch well crafted cocktails. the mixologists are creative and precise. the ambiance is cool and understated if you sit at the bar or at a table inside. outside you can relax and watch the passers by ambling along the lovely streets of san luis. their happy hour is not to be missed, two for one well drinks. plus their short but satisfying small plates menu will whet your appetite before dinner, or order several to share as a small dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

On a road trip and got into town hungry and late. This was just the place to stop & eat. Service was excellent the server was friendly and prompt. Dinner was filling and enjoyable. Nice atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fabulous food with retro furnishing! What fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a wonderful addition to San Luis Obispo. First I love the decor! All the furniture is different on every table and is reminiscent of another era. SO one can visit many locations of the past and memories will flow in the conversation. This is a real fun plus. Now to the food! in my several visits everything has been exquisite! I love the appetizers and think I could survive on them alone. The bruschetta and the olives are so tasty. The burger is top shelf and prepared perfectly. (I like to split it and we enjoy an appetizer too! See you there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidecar also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sidecar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidecar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.