We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Never Rains in California....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granada Bistro

Granada Bistro
1126 Morro St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3604
805-594-1528
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Granada Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 228 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“It Never Rains in California....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's raining and you're new in a town full of one way streets. It's lunch time and you turn left and lo and behold there is a parking spot and when you are putting money in the meter you realize you are actually in front of a restaurant/boutqiue hotel.

Not a tough decision to make. That was Wednesday at lunch. Thursday at dinner we were back for a second meal. Seems like every hip restaurant in SLO (as in Beware of Children) has, as part of its wine bar/counter, an enormous, shiney meat slicer that just glistens. Espresso machines, you are soooo yesterday, welcome to today, a time for charcuterie, we'll worry about the cardiac issues later. Homemade charcuterie, no less and in the case of the Granada - worth going to by the way just for the washrooms - 360 degree mirrors mitigated by intimate, soft lighting, as though the bulb had been dipped in vaseline, allows anyone the comfort of living in their own skin, however temporarily - and the wash-up sinks outside the door. These folks have taste and not so much of it you want to call the precious police. I loved the plate of charcuterie, even the homemade pickled vegetables that were rescued from the brine in judicious time. The wine list had a few local treats that made us feel good about being in California in spite of the ...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delightful and delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in January. We chose to eat at the Bistro twice, despite the fact that I have a bunch of other favorite restaurants in SLO that I like to visit.

The food is delicious -- so no complaints there. My only issue is that it is just a little on the expensive side and I wish they had a few more local wine choices and a bigger variety of price points.

The atmosphere, however, is very charming and the service was friendly and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great addition to SLO town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Granada Bistro is fun and funky, the food is delicious, and the music--hand-picked by the owner--is fantastic. Wonderful place to enjoy lunch, dinner, or a few drinks. Right in the heart of downtown, the menu is small and focused. Each dish we tried was executed perfectly. And there's an outdoor seating area that's very cool. We plan to take our friends there soon as a special treat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good food, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

unuasual combinations of food. great atmosphere with outside ambiance and good service. a bit pricey on the wine.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“JustOK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just took our firends for a much awaited dinner at this Bristo. the ambience was everything expected. The service not to quick just nice and easy give it a 5. What a charming setting and everyones dinner except mine was concered very good. My chicken was so salty I only a small portion. The cost is $$$$. Probably will not go to often.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granada Bistro also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Granada Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granada Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.