We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chardonnay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tolosa Winery

Tolosa Winery
4910 Edna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
805-782-0500
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit our solar and sustainable estate winery open daily 11-5pm for wine tasting and tours. Friday, Saturday and Sunday enjoy artisan wine and food pairings in our reserve Heritage Room. Tolosa’s sustainably farmed vineyards are located between Santa Barbara and Paso Robles, in the coastal hills of San Luis Obispo. Our goal is to make balanced wines that are true to varietal character and expressive of the cooling ocean breezes and long growing season that define our estate vineyards. Equally important we utilize the best environmentally sustainable practices in growing grapes and creating our distinctive wines.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Chardonnay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Must give this place four out of five stars for their steel-barrel chardonnay - one of the best I've had. Great atmosphere for wine tasting, too. Large tasting room with plenty of outdoor space to enjoy a glass of wine.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dramatic tasting room so so wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Amazing grounds and tasting room but wine is just OK. The tasting room staff was in to name dropping. Try the smaller places like Wolf.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fabulous wines. Peaceful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you are in the SLO area, this winery is so conveniently close and the wines are quite amazing that it's worth the trip. There's a big grand looking entrance that's hard to miss as you travel down the otherwise sparsely populated area on Broad St. We did the wine and cheese plate offering and were whisked off into a back VIP kind of room with a view of the vineyards. I thought they were going to just hand us a plate and send us out on the patio. Instead, someone serves you the wines with the descriptions of the cheeses that compliment each one. It's expensive and you get just a dab of each of the 4 cheeses, but it's a treat and well worth the experience. We were as impressed with some of the cheeses as we were with the wines, so we bought some of those to go as well.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great place to wine and picnic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Tolosa Winery 4910 Edna Road 805-782-0500. Open 11-5 daily. The tastings were $10 for 5 wines. We had a 2-4-1 from the internet. The facilities here are very nice. There is seating for 50 or so behind the tasting room. The seating is both wind and sun protected. There is also a waterfall feature. This was a great place to eat our lunch while sampling. Recommended for use as we did.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“What a nice Winery !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great winery and great wine !!! Great price on vinyard only wine. A must visit in SLO

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tolosa Winery also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Tolosa Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tolosa Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.