We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosmopolitan vibe in SLO Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meze Wine Bar & Bistro

Meze Wine Bar & Bistro
1880 Santa Barbara Ave Ste 130, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
18058326580
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 231 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Spanish, Greek, Tapas, Bistro, Wine Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosmopolitan vibe in SLO Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our family's favorite go to spot in San Luis Obispo. This thoughtfully designed space with expansive windows and beautiful exposed brick and wood beam interior provides the perfect location for meeting with family and friends to enjoy wine and small plates, to meet colleagues for a business lunch, or to purchase gourmet cheeses, artisan food products and an international selection of well-priced wines. We also like to order a picnic lunch or appetizer tray which they will specially design for you with your wine selections in mind. The staff and owners are friendly and well-informed. Favorite dishes (remember, this restaurant sources from the local farmer's market so many items are offered seasonally) - burrata salad, brussels sprout salad, any soup they make and for my husband, anything with boquerones on it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This place is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Cute little market where you can buy some fantastic cheeses. They let you taste the cheese and help you figure out which ones will pair well with the wines you have.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't just drive by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

With its small, unpretentious sign among several similar ones on a building that abuts busy Santa Barbara Street, it's easy to drive right by this place and never stop. Don't! There's plenty of free and easy parking behind the building, which is, in fact, the front entrance to this stylishly refurbished and renovated old building. I'd known of this place from watching the building renovation, seeing the new businesses go in, and reading about it in the paper when it opened, but I'd never been there till recently. I was in the neighborhood and decided it was time to try it. I'm glad I did! Nice variety of wines and things to eat, warm and comfortable atmosphere, friendly service. Nothing not to like!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“UpBeat Boutique Deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What great options you'll find at Meze. A Greek name, serving Spanish and Italian style offerings for the most part, while playing French music! Good variety, a bit on the pricy side, but delicious. If you have a hearty appetite, you'll need to order big. I'd like to try some of the many options I did not this trip, but probably go to Petra or Fatoush before I return to Meze. Very pleasant staff and fun interior decor and location.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't get enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was recently at an event at Saucelito Vineyards catered by Meze Wine Cafe and Market. The cheese selection that they prepared was so delicious that people were begging for more. I have also tasted the cauliflower soup and a plate of olives at the cafe and would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meze Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Meze Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meze Wine Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.