We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian Food in a welcoming restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Giuseppe

Palazzo Giuseppe
1010 Court St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3203
805-541-9922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 228 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Monterey/ Morro
Description: Welcome to Palazzo Giuseppe’s, downtown San Luis Obispo! Our Italian regional specialties are indicative to the Pugliese region in Italy, particularly Bari, a seaport on the Adriatic Sea from which most of our recipes originate. We hope you will enjoy and appreciate our great loyalty to the distinctive dishes, all of which we prepare with genuine and natural ingredients and methods. Our bread is baked from scratch every day in a wood-burning oven imported from Italy. Each loaf is made by hand, allowed to rise four times and slow-cooked to achieve the truly rustic appearance and taste you would find in a Baresi seaside village. DiFronzo is dedicated to producing & growing as many heirloom, organic vegetables, & fruits from his family farm as possible. Gelato, pizzas, & specialties including his estate grown Pinot Grigio, Pinot Noir, & Syrah. All of this takes time but to us it is an art and a labor of love. We are truly committed to bringing you "cucina genuina."
Orinda, California, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food in a welcoming restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful meal of salad, and pizza. It was authentic, just like we recently enjoyed in Florence, Italy! The server was attentive and charming, and the atmosphere welcoming and warm, on a drizzly evening. The owner made rounds through the restaurant sending leftover bread bread home with the diners, a nice touch! We ate there mid week, and although the restaurant was busy, it wasn't loud or crowded. Baseball fans enjoyed a play off game in the restaurant's bar area, creating a lively atmosphere. A great meal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    55
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandon, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

There is nothing not to like about Giuseppes, the food was great, lots of selection on their food and wine menu, The service was excellent. Lots of atmosphere, Indoor or outdoor seating. Great location. We love SLO, the students add so much vibrancy to the area.
Lots of terrific restaurants in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Italian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Dinner at Palazzo Giuseppe's was an overall good experience. The wait staff are super friendly and most efficient.....a good combination. We sat indoors which my husband thought to be a bit pretentious.....red walls, dark furniture.....but I thought it was was just right. Both our salads, the Della Citta arugula & the Mista, were delicious although I could do with less dressing. My entree, Ravioli di Zucca, were plumply filled ravioli with really fresh butternut squash in a very light creamy sauce. His was linguini with clams but he said the clams were a bit gritty and the sauce was flat tasting. Although the service and the atmosphere were wonderful the food just didn't have the excellent degree I was looking for.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Our server, Courtney, was excellent and so were the guys who bussed the tables. The three of us each ordered a different appetizers. All three were excellent. They offer a very good selection of wine and we enjoyed a couple of bottles a local Pinot Noir. My entree was the Tompano, which was superb and very filling. One of the others ordered the Flank Steak, which was also excellent. The third member of our group ordered the Frutti de Mare. Also excellent. All on all, a 5 out of 5 rating.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great outdoor seating, wonderful service and very good food. Super menu for a light lunch. The evening menu looked even better, but could not stay.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Giuseppe also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Palazzo Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Giuseppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.