We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting menu--eclectic decor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Red

Luna Red
1023 Chorro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
805-540-5243
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 257 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Monterey Street
Description: Nourish your appetite with Luna Red’s tantalizing mix of tapas, European staples and global creations. From house-cured duck prosciutto and local goat cheese, to tapas that include such gems as stuffed piquillo peppers or arancini balls, served with local mushrooms, leeks and a tomato jam— and those are just the starter plates. For an entrée, you’ll have a hard time deciding—we offer dishes from around the world such as Portuguese seafood stew with housemade chorizo or Korean style short ribs with housemade kimchee. We have something for every discerning palate. Each selection combines a perfect balance of flavors and represents a kaleidoscope of cuisines. Warm yourself. Delight in luna red.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Interesting menu--eclectic decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Luna Red is one of San Luis Obispo's best restaurants, located right on the town creek and next to the Tolosa Mission. Lots of Asian/American/Middle East fusion stuff on the menu. Great choices for vegetarians. We stuffed ourselves on artichokes, spring rolls, and small kabobs. The kabos (beef filet) were truly memorable. Prices are moderate. Decent wine list. Very friendly and helpful wait staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    55
    22
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than anything I had in Beverly Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Luna Red is a pleasant respite from the hustle and bustle of the big city. Situated in a prime spot right next to the Mission, the tapas was incredible (do yourself a favor and get the stuffed peppers), and the drinks (both alcoholic and non) were refreshing on a very overcast but humid day. Service was on point as well, though I admit we ate during a very slow period. All in all, Luna Red is a great bet for anyone, especially tourists looking to venture outside of their normal chains.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Happy family lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Lunch special was good value and delicious. Kids' choices are flexible, which is a welcome plus point. Lovely environment for outside eating on a sunny day. Busy and vibrant. Servers very helpful and knowledgeable on menu and wines. All signs of well-managed, customer-oriented eatery.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“So Good We Went Two Nights In A Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Absolutely loved the small plate concept. The patio was packed so we sat inside both nights. Service was friendly and efficient. First night- we ordered the pork short ribs but they were out and our server suggested the beef tacos. Wow- they were fantastic. The second night we had them again plus the short ribs which were also delicious.
Nice selection of local wines by the glass. Good value as well.
A very attractive restaurant that is uniquely decorated, Luna Red will be a regular stop for us when we pass through SLO from now on.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“nice bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We came to kill an hour before meeting a friend at another restaurant. The small plates and tapas were inventive and nicely prepared. The cocktail menu was also full of interesting choices. Everything we ordered was outstanding. We sat at the bar where the bartender was way too busy and without any assistants. The bar was also missing some staple liquors in my opinion, but that is a small criticism.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Red also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Luna Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Red, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.