We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere and Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Red

Luna Red
1023 Chorro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
805-540-5243
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 228 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Tapas, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Monterey Street
Description: Nourish your appetite with Luna Red’s tantalizing mix of tapas, European staples and global creations. From house-cured duck prosciutto and local goat cheese, to tapas that include such gems as stuffed piquillo peppers or arancini balls, served with local mushrooms, leeks and a tomato jam— and those are just the starter plates. For an entrée, you’ll have a hard time deciding—we offer dishes from around the world such as Portuguese seafood stew with housemade chorizo or Korean style short ribs with housemade kimchee. We have something for every discerning palate. Each selection combines a perfect balance of flavors and represents a kaleidoscope of cuisines. Warm yourself. Delight in luna red.
Visalia, California, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant on a Saturday night without reservations. We were enchanted by the atmosphere. The colors,twinkle lights, decor...I thought they must have good food or the wait wouldn't be an hour.
We had the country wine picnic. It was fantastic. We had Justin Cabernet and it was a perfect pair.
We had tapas... Stuffed chilis, bacon wrapped dates, and strip steak tacos. All very good. I'd probably skip the tacos next time but was pretty good.
Finished dinner with a new spin on s'mores. Home made graham cracker with dark chocolate, home made marshmallow and strawberries. Heavenly.
So happy we found this gem. Will be back for sure!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    64
    24
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tasty tapas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The outdoor seating is really good especially as it gets dark out. The service is good and they will take care of you. Dogs are welcome, i saw one or two at nearby tables (well behaved ones).

The tapas were pretty good thou nothing really stood out for me. It's too bad they don't serve paella. If there is one thing I wish we didn't order it would be dessert. two thumbs down

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Our first experience of tapas but we love sharing anyway. Stuffed pimentos and chorizo dates were great as we're sardines and meatballs. Piece de resistance were the brûlée figs and trio of ices avocado, strawberry and walnut. Lovely waitress, great music and great to sit outside.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Local sourcing, global flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten "fusion" in DC, Monte Carlo, Sydney, Vancouver, and SF. This restaurant could compete in any and all of those markets if this central California local foods could be brought there. It's easier for you to come here to SLO, and when you are in town, you should make time to visit for a specialty cocktail, some Jamon or Quinoa salad, the local blue cheese it stuffed peppers, and many other excellent choices. Eat tapas an have fun!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We (4 friends) stopped off in SLO for one night driving SF-LA. I saw this place on the hotel local ads TV and suggested we looked for it when walking around town.

The menu is sort-of tapas, though some portions larger than others. We had a wide variety of dishes that we swapped and shared, and nothing that wasn't delicious. The baked oysters, grilled lamb and crab ravioli were exceptional. Service was friendly and super efficient. The bill was very reasonable considering how much food and wine we'd had. Special thanks to the waitress who persisted to find a cab for us back to the hotel - it took ages!

Great place in a chi chi little town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Red also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Luna Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Red, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.