We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbeam Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunbeam Motel to your Saves list
Sunbeam Motel
1656 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Walk-In Special
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was an average place to stay. Prices were very good. Staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean. We stayed for one night after a drive along Big Sur before we headed down to LA. I was not impresssed with San Luis Obispo itself but the hotel was decent. Next time i think I would choose to drive the extra few miles and stay in Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
25
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Walked in here on a Thursday morning before an afternoon interview, and got a room immediately. Great, friendly guy at the front desk! Was so happy with the room, we decided to stay another night, but had to switch rooms because of a previous booking. Fortunately for us, there was another clean room available, so we just tossed our belongings into the other room and hit downtown again. (Pictures attached of both rooms)

The free coffee was actually pretty tasty, and there were plenty of clean towels, washcloths, etc. Beds were comfy, absolutely no smells from anything in the place. The entire experience was leaps and bounds better than a Motel 6, and I love Motel 6! The price is right, and you're walking distance to downtown. 2 minute drive up to Cal Poly. Conveniently located in a safe, cute area right off the freeway. Free wifi, free parking, awesome TV, mini-fridge, microwave, and travel suggestions at the front desk.

If the next time I'm in SLO isn't with a moving van, I'll definitely be back at the Sunbeam Motel.

Room Tip: I don't know if you could go wrong with any room, but the upstairs rooms have cool views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balneario Camboriu, SC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived very late and they were waiting for us, with everything ready and a room downstairs (not necessary to carry the luggage up). The receptionist is very friendly. The room is clean and organized. Good location. Beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Only stayed for one night as we were travelling down the coast, pretty good considering how cheap it was, onsite parking and lots of bigger hotels around so feels safe. Short walk to downtown, farmers market on a Thursday night downtown was good! staff were helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The price was right & the hotel staff was very friendly. This place was super close to downtown and clean. It had a fridge, microwave, etc. The bed was a little uncomfortable & it was a little noisy but overall we were satisfied with the hotel & the price we paid!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After reviewing overnight accomodations on TripAdvisor, my wife and I selected the Sunbeam Motel for it's fairly high ratings and significantly lower price than others in the area. We stayed there on 10/18 & 10/19, 2012.

The Sunbeam is a small older place but it seemed clean, tidy and well taken care of. The management was very friendly and helpful too. We really appreciated the central location and actually walked to downtown SLO for sight-seeing, shopping, etc. The walk may be a bit long for some but we made a morning of it and had a great time.

If you are looking for inexpensive centrally located accomodations with no frills, the Sunbeam should work for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this motel because it was the cheapest we could find in town. I think that it was a decent motel especially for the price. Pros: price, friendly service, proximity to downtown, safe-looking area, lcd tv, refrigerator, microwave, small quiet motel, updated bathroom. Cons: outdated besides bathroom, our bed was pretty hard, musty smell, dirty towels in bathroom but owner gladly gave us clean ones.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunbeam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbeam Motel

Address: 1656 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunbeam Motel is a wonderful motel for the budget-minded traveler. It is conveniently located near downtown San Luis Obispo and Cal Poly. Our rooms are equipped with standard amenities, including cable TV with HBO, free wifi, refrigerators, hairdryers, microwaves and daily housekeeping services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunbeam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbeam Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.