We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price was right at this older but adequate establishment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbeam Motel

Save Saved
You added Sunbeam Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunbeam Motel
1656 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Walk-In Special
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Shingle Springs, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The price was right at this older but adequate establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After reviewing overnight accomodations on TripAdvisor, my wife and I selected the Sunbeam Motel for it's fairly high ratings and significantly lower price than others in the area. We stayed there on 10/18 & 10/19, 2012.

The Sunbeam is a small older place but it seemed clean, tidy and well taken care of. The management was very friendly and helpful too. We really appreciated the central location and actually walked to downtown SLO for sight-seeing, shopping, etc. The walk may be a bit long for some but we made a morning of it and had a great time.

If you are looking for inexpensive centrally located accomodations with no frills, the Sunbeam should work for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
20
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this motel because it was the cheapest we could find in town. I think that it was a decent motel especially for the price. Pros: price, friendly service, proximity to downtown, safe-looking area, lcd tv, refrigerator, microwave, small quiet motel, updated bathroom. Cons: outdated besides bathroom, our bed was pretty hard, musty smell, dirty towels in bathroom but owner gladly gave us clean ones.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had a job interview and just need a place to stay overnight that had a bed and a shower. This place was the cheapest I could find close to downtown San Luis Obispo. If you are looking for a place that offers you better features look elsewhere, there too much light coming in the cheap window shades, ugly decor and shabby furniture and fixtures. There are better hotels/motels but you are going to pay for it if you don't want something less than $90.00. I think that they could make this place better and remodel but maybe they don't have any money. The staff were nice to deal with.

Room Tip: There are no good room here if you are not looking for a cheap one night place to crash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hard to beat this place to stay in SLO for $50 odd a night for the two of us. Our room was on the ground floor behind the parking lot of the motel next door and we were woken early in the morning with guests from that place departing but otherwise the motel was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you're going to be in pricey San Luis Obispo for 1 or 2 nights and you want to save on accommodations, you couldn't do better than the Sunbeam Motel. We stayed for 1 night, July 23. We splurged on the $59 room with 2 QS beds! You also get a mini fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, exceptionally clean and modern bathroom. Yes, you do get a paper bathmat that says "Bath Mat" (we took a picture!), but all in all very satisfactory. Plus, you are 2 blocks from the Splash Cafe and their excellent breakfast and bakery - within walking distance. .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 on the 2nd floor at the back - very quiet with windows that open for ventilatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is highly recommended for budget traveller. Sunbeam motel is located on the Monterey Street in San Luis Obispo. It is the most affordable motel in the area. A short walking distance to town. For the price that we were paying, we weren't expect much when we booked it. However, the motel did surprise me. Generally, it was clean, comfortable & quiet. Parking was pretty limited.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

You know you're not going to get much when your bath mat is a piece of paper on the floor that says "Bath Mat". No shampoo, tiny bit of soap, only two towels. The desk clerk checks out at 10 so you're on your own. I had to drive an hour to Food For Less to get shampoo. The room and bed was clean and pet friendly. Although it seemed a bit sketchy around the outside, the neighborhood is well lit and there are better hotels all around so you feel safe.

Room Tip: Bring your own amenities. This is bare bones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunbeam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbeam Motel

Address: 1656 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunbeam Motel is a wonderful motel for the budget-minded traveler. It is conveniently located near downtown San Luis Obispo and Cal Poly. Our rooms are equipped with standard amenities, including cable TV with HBO, free wifi, refrigerators, hairdryers, microwaves and daily housekeeping services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Sunbeam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbeam Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.