We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbeam Motel

Save Saved
You added Sunbeam Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sunbeam Motel
1656 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Walk-In Special
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had a job interview and just need a place to stay overnight that had a bed and a shower. This place was the cheapest I could find close to downtown San Luis Obispo. If you are looking for a place that offers you better features look elsewhere, there too much light coming in the cheap window shades, ugly decor and shabby furniture and fixtures. There are better hotels/motels but you are going to pay for it if you don't want something less than $90.00. I think that they could make this place better and remodel but maybe they don't have any money. The staff were nice to deal with.

Room Tip: There are no good room here if you are not looking for a cheap one night place to crash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
18
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hard to beat this place to stay in SLO for $50 odd a night for the two of us. Our room was on the ground floor behind the parking lot of the motel next door and we were woken early in the morning with guests from that place departing but otherwise the motel was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you're going to be in pricey San Luis Obispo for 1 or 2 nights and you want to save on accommodations, you couldn't do better than the Sunbeam Motel. We stayed for 1 night, July 23. We splurged on the $59 room with 2 QS beds! You also get a mini fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, exceptionally clean and modern bathroom. Yes, you do get a paper bathmat that says "Bath Mat" (we took a picture!), but all in all very satisfactory. Plus, you are 2 blocks from the Splash Cafe and their excellent breakfast and bakery - within walking distance. .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 on the 2nd floor at the back - very quiet with windows that open for ventilatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is highly recommended for budget traveller. Sunbeam motel is located on the Monterey Street in San Luis Obispo. It is the most affordable motel in the area. A short walking distance to town. For the price that we were paying, we weren't expect much when we booked it. However, the motel did surprise me. Generally, it was clean, comfortable & quiet. Parking was pretty limited.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

You know you're not going to get much when your bath mat is a piece of paper on the floor that says "Bath Mat". No shampoo, tiny bit of soap, only two towels. The desk clerk checks out at 10 so you're on your own. I had to drive an hour to Food For Less to get shampoo. The room and bed was clean and pet friendly. Although it seemed a bit sketchy around the outside, the neighborhood is well lit and there are better hotels all around so you feel safe.

Room Tip: Bring your own amenities. This is bare bones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, ca
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed at the Sunbeam Motel 6/20-21-12, after reading trip advisor reviews. Here's our situation, our musical group was booked in Modesto on 6/19, San Luis Obispo at the Madonna Event Center on 6/20, then LA and SD for the weekend. We needed an affordable place in San Luis Obispo for two nights, and a day off to energize by the beach. To stay "on buget", we rarely stay at the high priced Hotels we play at. The Sunbean totally met our needs and in fact was much better than expected considering $45 per night for two. The room was large, about 300sq ft. had a flat screen TV, lots of programing, a nice size refrigator and micro. Most of all, it was very clean and had a nice bathroom. We needed ice, no problem the office had it for us and the desk manager even reserved a safe parking space right in front of our room (#1) for our van which was carring a lot of expensive sound and light equipment. The stay was relaxing and in walking distance of town. When we are playing the Central Coast we will again make arrangements to stay at the Sunbeam, very nice people. Again, thanks to the kind folks that left similar reviews on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: For a more quiet room go for the rooms with a higher number, we stayed in room#1 and it was right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, UT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

New paint in our upstairs room. Comfortable beds. Clean. Old. Thin walls. Loud yappy dogs in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Owner said upstairs rooms are remodeled: bigger and newer and better overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunbeam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbeam Motel

Address: 1656 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunbeam Motel is a wonderful motel for the budget-minded traveler. It is conveniently located near downtown San Luis Obispo and Cal Poly. Our rooms are equipped with standard amenities, including cable TV with HBO, free wifi, refrigerators, hairdryers, microwaves and daily housekeeping services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Sunbeam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbeam Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.