We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbeam Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Sunbeam Motel to your Saves list
Sunbeam Motel
1656 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Walk-In Special
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Heber City, UT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

New paint in our upstairs room. Comfortable beds. Clean. Old. Thin walls. Loud yappy dogs in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Owner said upstairs rooms are remodeled: bigger and newer and better overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
24
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Minha namorada e eu nao gostamos nada do hotel. Apesar de um bom preço, o quarto tinha um cheiro estranho, estava sujo, muita poeira e encontramos cabelo no banheiro. Por uma noite até vai mas mais que isso nao dá.
My girlfriend and I did not like the motel. The price is all right but the room smells weird, bathroom was dirty, we found several hair in there. For one night it's ok but would not recommend for more than one night.

Room Tip: If you have big luggages ask for a room on ground cause there is no lift. Se estiver com malas gran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Sunbeam motel is a wonderful place. Their rooms have everything you need. It's truly the most affordable in the area. The hosts are wonderful and go out of their way to make sure you are well taken care of. The owners make this a home away from home. I definitely encourage you to stay and enjoy their hospitality. The hotel is within walking distance to downtown, coffee shops, and restaurants and SLO truly is pedestrian friendly...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Sunbeam motel is a great place to stay for the price. I have been a regular business travel customer for about 10 years. Their rooms are simple, clean and have everything you need. It's the most affordable in the area. I strongly recommend this motel to budget or business travelers. Room, service, value location and everything! Nobody comes close!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I were traveling through to Monterrey and just needed a place for the night. I'm very happy with our decision to stay here. The price is very affordable; we didn't want to spend too much since we were just passing through. The area was clean, safe, and quiet. The room's quality is comparable to Motel 6, but it is clean and doesn't smell like smoke. For the price you pay I wasn't expecting higher quality, but you have everything you need to have a nice stay. If we are ever in the area, we will definitely stay here.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We were a bit worried, given the cheap price. When we arrived the managers were helpful, room clean & had microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Walk to town 10-15min easy walk. Would definitely recommend to budget travellers.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Sunbeam Motel is practically my home away from home in San Luis Obispo . I'm a business promoter for an auto co. & I travel throughout the west coast with my wife. We have stayed in numerous hotels/motels throughout the country. What really impresses me about this motel is that the manager is able to keep this place so nice & clean & quiet for its price range. Their rooms come with free WiFi, cable TV, a refrigerator, a microwave, & air conditioning. The owners are extremely friendly & would do anything to make our stsy comfortable. They even placed a second refrigerator in our pe our request. Depending on my business, sometimes we would stay in San Luis Obispo for a few days or up to a couple of months. (since Sept. 18/10) & we will be leaving @ the end of the month ( Dec./2010) because I'm being assigned to another location on Jan. 3. We will miss this place when we leave. This motel is a budget type hotel, not a Hilton. I highly recoimmend this motel to travelers with budget mind or people for the business trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunbeam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbeam Motel

Address: 1656 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunbeam Motel is a wonderful motel for the budget-minded traveler. It is conveniently located near downtown San Luis Obispo and Cal Poly. Our rooms are equipped with standard amenities, including cable TV with HBO, free wifi, refrigerators, hairdryers, microwaves and daily housekeeping services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Sunbeam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbeam Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.