We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Visited the Spa & Restaurant ~ but that was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
east coast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Only Visited the Spa & Restaurant ~ but that was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My friend and I treated ourselves to the "Wine Therapy" spa treatment and it was wonderful! They have you soak in private hot tubs for 30 minutes prior to your massage ~ then they call you for your massage time. It was heavenly ~ my friend loved the scented oil so much she purchased some to take back to the East Coast with her! Lisa gave me my massage ~ she was nurturing, professional and calm. I felt like I was floating when we left to go to the restaurant to enjoy our complimentary wine that came with that massage. The food we saw being served looked so tempting that we stayed and ordered brunch. Every bite was delicious and the service was incredible. I can't wait for my next visit!

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    236
    118
    86
    56
See reviews for
99
503
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We went to Sycamore Mineral Springs for a weekend relaxation get away form the bay area and to celebrate my birthday. Although the private sulfur hot tubs in the mythical suites are unique, the hotel was below average and certainly not worth the money. I might be persuaded to return if the they charged about half what we paid.
The bed in the room was so high, they should have provided a stepping stool. Each time we got in and out we had get a running start, which was not user friendly. We were out of our room from 9am until 2pm and our room had not been serviced. I called the front desk to complain and they said they would send someone up. We then took the laptop to the bar area, which is where the front desk said we could get wifi. However, it did not work and we were not able to get online. When we went back to the room after one hour, the room had still not been serviced. This was a particular inconvenience because the toilet had exploded with water in the early morning and all of the wet towels were still laying around the floor.
The restaurant had great service but not great food and it was overpriced for the quality. The spa was lovely and the massage therapists that we had were both excellent. The location of the property is fabulous, however there are other hotels for more value and less money located within 2 miles.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

So here is the thing. Even though my wonderful girlfriend loved her valentines day trip here, I still have to be honest and objective. The day manager at the "Gardens of Avila" restaurant was a complete witch with a capital "B", and after checking in it took the front desk over an hour and a half to give us our scented oils that come with the valentines package that should have been in our room after checking in. Also early check in for Sycamore Mineral springs was only about 45mins earlier than regular check in. The receptionists were all very very nice, the staff at the restaurant were amazing. Dinner was amazing. But after having dinner we wanted to get into our private tub and the water only filled halfway then it was bone dry....no water came out again until 8am the next day. Basically Sycamore Mineral Springs was a good trip, but do not come here on busy holidays if you want your own private mineral water spa. Next time we go we will just book a regular room for $100 or more less than use that to reserve spa time at $12.50 an hour and not have to worry about if our tub isn't working. Over all I would give this trip a high mark but the room we got wasn't worth the $350 price tag for just 1 night.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

My husband and I decided to visit this place as our weekend getaway, and the only reason why we choose to stay here was the hot springs that are available on this property. They have a private hot tub in each room with access to the natural mineral spring water which is very nice and relaxing, but I must say this was the only nice thing about this hotel.... When we got there, we were very disappointed how small and old our room was. The beds were too soft, and because the building was so old, we could hear the stamping noise from the guests upstairs all night and in the morning. I felt that they charge way too much money for a poor quality room like this. The hot spring, the only nice feature they offer, wasn't even available after 9 pm because the natural hot spring well was supposedly "temporarily run out." We were probably the unlucky ones to run into an incident like this, and even though I did enjoy the time I could use the tub with the hot mineral spring water, the experience here was not a good value for the money.

Japanese:
主人と二人で週末に一泊旅行で温泉につかりに行こうと、温泉のあるこのホテルの予約をしましたが、部屋のサイズや古さにがっかりしてしまいました。各部屋に温泉水が出る大きいバスタブ(ジャクジー)がついているのでリラックス出来るのはよいのですが、このホテルの取柄はこれだけかな、というのが正直な感想でした。ベッドはちょっと柔らか過ぎましたし、建物が古いせいか、上の階の宿泊客が歩き回る音が夜も朝もとてもうるさかったです。部屋のクオリティが非常に悪いのに対し、高すぎる感じざるを得ませんでえした。唯一の取柄である温泉水さえも夜9時ぐらいには「温泉の湧き出るところが一時的に底をついた」とか何かで出なくなってしまい、たまたま運が悪かったとしても、すごく損をした気分になりました。温泉水が出ていた間はリラックスして楽しめましたが、残念な宿泊となりました。

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Biggest issue is lodging is in two story wood frame bulding that is probably over twenty years old, as opposed to concrete building they should have built. Not only do you hear everyone walking by, but everyone going up and down the stairs, walking across the room above, running water, or flushing toilet. If you live in an old two story house then imagine having all the rooms filled with late night guests and that's about what it's like. Basically if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

First of all, there was no welcome feeling at the registration. It was raining, and the staff told us to go to the 2nd floor in "Adventure" building.
1. The staircase is around the building, No elevator. Cannot park the car in the front of the building.
2. Room was clean, but shows the years.
3. The bathtub was located on the deck but the tub was not completely covered by the roof. It was raining that night.
4.The tub was not working that night. The maintenance personnel could not explain.

The next morning, we received the FULL bill for the room. We explained what happened, and what the staff offered the last night. "We have not heard about it" was the first response.
After some discussion, we finally got a part of our money back.
Usually, I am good at finding some positive comments, but this time, I am sorry.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We were warmly greeted, we arrived early so had to wait for our room. We drove to the pier and had lunch. Came back, the room was ready. Very clean and neat. But the best part- the hot tub on balcony outside our room!! It seems some people can't handle the sulfur smell, but after two minutes you can't smell it and you sink into luxurious hot natural mineral water. We spent three days soaking in the tub, sitting in for 20 minutes, getting out for 30 minutes, back in again. All day long. By day 3, our muscles felt so wondrous and renewed. We took a couple of hikes on the adjacent trails, and walked the labyrinth. But we came for the water, and it didn't disappoint. We loved it. We'll come back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.