We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

My mom and I planned a road trip from Santa Barbara to Big Sur along Highway 1. We stayed at Sycamore Springs during the first night because it was a good distance from the airport in SB and it seemed to offer a relaxing experience after our 5.5 hour flight. We didn't know what to expect given mixed reviews but it was just for one night. We had a mineral spring tub which definitely had the sulfer odor however once you get used to the smell, it was very relaxing. The room was very outdated, very basic. The bathroom was awful. It was extremely outdated, the toilet leaked overnight. I am sure there are better rooms at the hotel because I noticed there are other buildings on the property. The property itself is beautiful, has amazing potential. Let's just say that my mom and I were glad to have only invested 1 night of our trip at Sycamore Springs. Unless the renovate the building we stayed in at Sycamore, for next time, I would rather stay at one of the hotels on Avila Beach which seemed incredibly beautiful.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Bathroom, no view from balcony, extremely outdated decor
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    291
    140
    99
    68
See reviews for
127
652
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2006

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort is an affordable, relaxing hotel. We were able to get a Luxury Suite (Majestic) for only $179. Here's a tip-book LATE! This room would of been a hundred bucks extra if you booked EARLY.

Service was pretty good at check in. The lady gave us lots of info on the hotel and told us where things were located at the premises at the hotel.

Do not expect Sycamore Minerals Springs Resort to be like a five star hotel. It is NOT.

The room is okay, if not a bit dated. Some insects are sometimes in the room, somehow. The TV in the living space is not in a very good location(due to the fireplace). The bed is high in the bedroom, while the sofa bed, as always, is thin and bouncy. It's okay for kids, but they'll probably complain about their backs hurting the next day.
The restroom is pretty dated and the toiletries are small. They give you two of each kind of toiletries(i.e. 2 shampoo/conditioner, 2 lotion, 2 two sandalwood soap(that was in the room). The shower is pretty good, as there are multiple showerheads.
The main attraction of the room is mainly the hot tub, which they say is mineral based (even though our room was the fresh water kind of suite). Be sure to clean off the dirt/debris, and make sure that you have put on the stopper (a lever) or else your hot tub will not ever get 1/4 of the way full.
The room is also dated in a way that the door has a California room rate thing (the font is very old, so you know that the room is dated) it said that the room was supposed to be 350 a night (YIKES).
In addition, the room also has a coffee machine with complimentary water, coffee (instant), creamer, etc., and a microwave.

We did not eat at the Gardens of Avila restaurant, but it was pretty empty... don't know why.

In conclusion, the Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort is a good hotel. Make sure you do not get ripped off on the room rates, and bring warm clothing (as it is cold there). Also, plan some activities, such as hiking or biking. This hotel is great for these things.

  • Liked — Hot tub, living area
  • Disliked — Outdated restroom(i.e.faucets)
  • Tips/Secrets — Book late (we still got a room near holiday...booked two days from arrival)
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

My boyfriend and I saved Sycamore Springs for our last vacation night "splurge" ($300 per night King suite - the "Divine" room). We were sorely disappointed... The suite was fine, jacuzzi on the deck (that you fill yourself) with a gas fireplace and a two-headed shower. The golf-cart ride to our room across the highway (over a bridge) was nice, but make sure you have tip money... NOTHING is free around here... The disappointing parts were as follows:
1) I thought it would be more like a secluded retreat, but you could hear the highway from our room, not too peaceful...
2) The "mediation garden" was hysterical! I thought the labyrinth advertised was going to be like a corn-maze you could "get lost" in (silly-me) but this "meditation garden" was just a bunch of small stones placed in a circle with a maze to the center, next to the highway, which you better time perfectly to cross (without benefit of a cross-walk) or become road-kill on the way to meditate... not too serene.
3) For $300 a night we thought, perhaps breakfast would be included? We found a note that continental breakfast (e.g., bagel/granola and juice) can be delivered for $9.50 per person with a 20% tip added to the bill!
4) Basic cable was available with no free movie channels... There is pay-per-view, but we figured we had given the hotel enough money...
5) Also, I thought we would get to go in the mineral hotsprings as part of our stay. Instead we got a half-off coupon upon arrival - mineral spring hot tubs were $20 per hour with an extra $10 per extra person... No thanks....
Check-in was at 4pm and check-out was at 11am.... We left at around 9am and and tried to forget about the feeling of just wasting hundreds of dollars of our hard-earned money for a night at the Sycamore...
To sum it up, the price, for what we got, was just over-the-top. Especially considering, we just came from a lovely place in Morro Bay with an ocean view, in-room whilrpool tub for two, fireplace, king-size canopy bed, free wine-pouiring at night and extensive free continental breakfast that was about a 1/3 the price of the Sycamore rip-off...

  • Liked — Two-headed shower was interesting - there is a nice nature trail on/near the grounds.
  • Disliked — The price.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

Good value for a mid week rate. We stayed in the suites across the road called the "meadows". Very private, clean and comfortable. Nice spa on the balcony. We used the mineral spring spa and though there was a slight sulfur odor it was still very clean, secluded and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

I enjoyed my stay overall and certainly enjoyed the hot tubs, but didn't think the cost was on par with the facilities. The place has a definite "summer camp" kind of feel. Our room, while perfectly serviceable, was a bit old and worn out, particularly the bathroom. It was fine - but rather disappointing for $200 a night. My husband and I are both in fine shape, but found it pretty incredulous that there was no one to help with our luggage since our buliding was located above a very steep hill. We ended up driving the car up the hill to avoid carrying all our stuff up, but backing down the steep, winding hill was not easy. I saw little golf carts zipping around - I'd like to know why they don't use one of those to help guests with this problem. The restaurant was alright, but pretty overpriced as well. The entrees are are all about $25 and up - but not that well executed. The duck confit was rubbery. That said, the grounds were pretty pleasant and we enjoyed a morning hike on the Sycamore trail.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

I was a little reticent to come here, but the bad reviews seemed to be due to bad luck. We had a great time.

It barely smelled like rotten eggs due to the mineral springs sulfer, even during a soak in the mineral tub. Everyone was exceedingly helpful, though the servers in the restaurant were a little inexperienced, they still gave excellent service. It is by a road, but once in your room (at least the one were were in--our tub was in the back, against a wooded slope, for quiet and privacy), even at night it's quiet as a mouse.

The restaurant was shockingly good, and the service was totally attentive.

Things did get a little buggy, because our suite backed up to that wooded slope, and if you have the back door open some critters'll get in. But it was a minor issue and the room was totally SPOTLESS when we checked in.

My massage was amazing. The masseuse was giving me a swedish massage but upon feeling my uber-tense shoulders and neck, switched to shiatsu and did a little muscle testing with my permission. She even went over an hour.

Plus, the grounds were beautiful. The hiking trail is wooded and peaceful.

The big issue? The decor. For the price, you'd expect beautiful, tasteful decorations, in colors and materials that reflect a beachy, wooded resort. Instead, the decor--clearly newish - was regrettably in a style befitting a "nice" Holiday Inn circa 1980. Dark green carpet, "library" furnishings, pink walls, and dark wood furniture. What were they thinking??? It really cut into the atmosphere. But, there was clearly thought put into it, and again, everything was spotless.

I'm definitely returning.

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — The awful decor
  • Tips/Secrets — Head to San Luis Obispo, Just Sushi restaurant on the main drag--awesome sushi.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

This hotel was a terrible disappointment. First off, when you pay this kind of money, someone should cheerfully help you carry your luggage up the steep hill to your room. We finally located a staff bellman who offered to carry our gear only halfway up and was clearly dismayed that we wanted him to help us with the long haul to our room.

Overall, the staff acted liked everything was a bother. Their indifference, bordering on hostility, was a shock (especially at that price point). The restaurant, I would like to say, offered excellent food and service.

Our room was nice enough, but small. Yes there was a hot tub on the deck, in full view of the busy, noisy, parking lot.

Indeed, there is a beautiful labyrinth for peaceful meditation, if you can dodge speeding semis as you race across the harrowing highway to walk its’ path.

Ironically, the hotel was decorated with a preponderance of signs warning/urging us to be quiet. It became a joke with us, because this is one of the noisiest hotels I’ve ever stayed at. Our room was above the parking lot, where staff and hot tub users carouse in the wee hours. Road traffic is very loud and consistent throughout the night.

Save your money, stay in Pismo and come here for a meal and a soak, if that.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.