We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hate giving this place a "Poor" rating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I hate giving this place a "Poor" rating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My wife and I have been coming here for years, and we have referred others as well. Massage and a soak in a lovely setting. Good restaurant for when you don't want to venture out for one of the really good choices in the area. We usually stay in the West Meadows area, across the road from the main hotel. Secluded, spacious cabins with huge flat screens, internet, fireplace, and a completely private outdoor hot tub. Mini frig and microwave as well. So why only a "2"? Because I remember when they knew about customer service. Not unexpectedly, this place is not inexpensive. But lately (our last 2-3 visits) we have experienced a level of customer service less than what one would expect at a Motel 6. Oh sure, we got plenty of polite, rehearsed apologies when things went wrong. But then there was little attempt to really make amends for the problems. And then the problems repeated themselves at our next stay, and then again at the next. I guess it's time to find somewhere else to stay, which is a real shame. We really loved this place. Examples of our problems: 1. Inconsistent hot water for showers and the hot tub, which took days to fix, 2. Screwed up massage appointment times in spite of several callbacks to reconfirm, 3. Feathers and down bedding still in our room at check-in, even though we specified a feather free room when making the reservation, and then called back the day before arrival to reconfirm. #1 happened only once. #'s 2 & 3 have happened repeatedly. Each time we are assured that "they are so sorry, it never should have happened, and we will make sure it never happens again."

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    362
    176
    115
    80
See reviews for
168
784
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here 6 times in the past 3 years and generally loved it. We've stayed in just about every category of accommodations. Our most recent stay, a week ago, was for three nights in a queen suite. We were assigned to a room called Fantasy, in a building called the Mythical Suites. The room was just fine, large and clean, and the water for the tub was strongly sulfurous, which we both like. What we didn't like was the location and condition of the patio and hot tub. While the patios in all the other rooms we've stayed in have been private, this one was directly downhill from the rear windows of the rooms in the Harmony Building. A cheap looking beach umbrella had been wired to the back of the tub to give a little shade and privacy. Along the back of the patio was a planter box full of dead plants and cigarette butts. Not the most enchanting place for a soak.

We ate several meals at the restaurant bar and found the food decent, though my sense is that the quality has gone downhill since our first visit three years ago. Happy hour used to include food items but now they offer only two wines at reduced prices. We had one meal at the restaurant proper. Again the food was decent, though portions were miniscule and prices were pretty high.

My wife had a massage and absolutely loved it.

We'll no doubt return. Of all the rooms we've rented, we've most enjoyed the the suites across the road in the West Meadow. They're peaceful and quiet and there's ready access to the Bob Jones Trail. Unfortunately the water over there is pretty much sulfur-free. Sulfur or peace and quiet? Not sure which way we'll go next time.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Mythical Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the "Charming" room, comfortable & quiet. Hot tub on the patio with mineral water was fantastic. Hotel restaurant sources vegitables from their own gardens and everything else from local suppliers. A must Go for a relaxing weekend.

Take Yoga in the Yoga Dome or go for a walk to the beach along the Bob Jones Trail.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps improve our business daily.

We are so glad you were able to experience the true essence of Sycamore. From our in-room balcony hot tubs, restaurant fare including produce from our own on-site garden, along with our Yoga Dome and vicinity to Bob Jones Trail, Sycamore really will have you wanting to come back. It’s hard to fit in all the activities we offer in a short stay – but it looks like you did and that’s fantastic!

Thank you for your nice words about Sycamore. We definitely look forward to hosting you again and hope you are able to make it back soon! Cheers.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed in one of the spa bungalows for four nights . Location is peaceful and beautiful. Food is good. ( dinner was delicious and also the fresh fruit juices) but having breakfast , at example, requires a lot of time . They've explained to us that they have a slow kitchen philosophy, which assures high quality, but at the same time if you want to have something easy and fast to eat, you can't do thatz Gift shop closes at 9 so if you need to buy a bottle of water later than that, it's impossible. Bar closes at 10. Old showers/bathtubs.
Very close to Avila and Pismo beach. Very friendly staff.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Hilda,

Thank you for your recent visit and stay to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We appreciate you taking time to leave a review as we value your feedback.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your long stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. Our newly renovated King Suites are gorgeous and perfectly secluded.

Our restaurant offers up a specialized menu for dinner as well as breakfast and lunch. Our fresh juices are mostly derived from produce grown in our on-site Chef’s Garden and are always delicious! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food and juices! We are sorry that your breakfast took a little longer than expected. We will pass along this helpful insight in hopes that people will be able to stop in for a quick breakfast, if needed.

Thank you again for your recent visit to Sycamore. We hope that you will be able to come visit and stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Don't check into this hotel expecting a lot out of the staff.

They have awesome hot tubs on the room patios. Check-In with someone you love, bring booze and whatever else you're into and chill in the private hot tub for however long you can handle it.

The rooms are really impressive. Four person showers, giant comfortable beds (short girls will have to jump to reach the top) and a fireplace. Definitely romantic!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and stay to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We appreciate your business and feedback.

We apologize if you did not have ideal staff interactions during your stay. We strive to make each guest feel special and enhance their visit, so we apologize when we don’t see this occurring.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our romantic rooms and private hot tubs. It is so wonderful to have our balcony Hot Tubs and our guests can enjoy themselves within the comfort of their own room. Thank you for enjoying our romantic rooms and treating yourself at Sycamore Mineral Springs.

We hope you come back to visit us again!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Was very excited about coming to Sycamore Springs and having a relaxing 3 day get away.for my husband and I. The grounds are very nice. Loved the walking trail to Avila Beach. When you drive up the Hotel looks very nice. When we got to our room , was very disappointed on the outdated and cleanliness of them. Had a problem with toilet. Had to ask house cleaning to vacuum( was needed) the hot tub was very old and not all jets were working. ( made the best of it,) A little expansive for how worn it was. We feel some good cleaning and updated features would really make a difference.Not sure if I would spend over 2 hundred a night to stay here again. Did have couples massage. And it was Great!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We greatly appreciate your feedback and time in writing a review.

We are happy you were able to come enjoy our grounds and the walking trail to Avila Beach. We really do enjoy where our resort is located – so peaceful and quiet but a quick trip to Avila Beach if that’s where you would like to spend a day or take a bike ride to.

We are sorry to hear of your outdated room. We do have older facilities as Sycamore Mineral Springs is over 100 years old – however we are in the process of updating all of our Guest Rooms. So far, we have done our West Meadows King suites and we are now in the process of updating all of our Queen Suites. Along with our rooms, we are updating all of our Guest Room Hot Tubs as well! Eventually – we will have all of our Guest Rooms updated and remodeled – as we are aware of this concern.

We will address the cleanliness of the carpet with the Housekeeping department – thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We hope to see you again in the future to experience our newly updated rooms.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed in their Guest House for 2 nights with 7 girlfriends. We all loved it! It was very spacious although some felt it could be updated and the kitchen better stocked..Staff was very cordial and receptive. Restaurant food delicious and waiter was very attentive and met all our needs. Everyone loved their spa treatments. Pleasant walk to Avila Beach and it's a fun beach town. We all want to bring our husbands back!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and stay to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are happy to receive your review and appreciate the time it takes in writing one.

We are so glad to hear of your fun trip with your Girlfriends. The Guest House is a wonderful place to stay, to relax, enjoy and make memories. We are happy to hear you received cordial and receptive service throughout your stay between our Hotel, Spa, and Restaurant Staff. We have great amenities throughout our Resort and we are happy when Guests are able to enjoy them thoroughly.

Thank you again for your Girls Getaway to Sycamore Springs and we look forward to seeing your back with your Husbands – or the girls again!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#7 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
1.4 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.