We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place. Nice accomodation. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place. Nice accomodation. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed in one of the spa bungalows for four nights . Location is peaceful and beautiful. Food is good. ( dinner was delicious and also the fresh fruit juices) but having breakfast , at example, requires a lot of time . They've explained to us that they have a slow kitchen philosophy, which assures high quality, but at the same time if you want to have something easy and fast to eat, you can't do thatz Gift shop closes at 9 so if you need to buy a bottle of water later than that, it's impossible. Bar closes at 10. Old showers/bathtubs.
Very close to Avila and Pismo beach. Very friendly staff.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Hilda,

Thank you for your recent visit and stay to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We appreciate you taking time to leave a review as we value your feedback.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your long stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. Our newly renovated King Suites are gorgeous and perfectly secluded.

Our restaurant offers up a specialized menu for dinner as well as breakfast and lunch. Our fresh juices are mostly derived from produce grown in our on-site Chef’s Garden and are always delicious! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food and juices! We are sorry that your breakfast took a little longer than expected. We will pass along this helpful insight in hopes that people will be able to stop in for a quick breakfast, if needed.

Thank you again for your recent visit to Sycamore. We hope that you will be able to come visit and stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    340
    164
    111
    77
See reviews for
153
744
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Don't check into this hotel expecting a lot out of the staff.

They have awesome hot tubs on the room patios. Check-In with someone you love, bring booze and whatever else you're into and chill in the private hot tub for however long you can handle it.

The rooms are really impressive. Four person showers, giant comfortable beds (short girls will have to jump to reach the top) and a fireplace. Definitely romantic!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and stay to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We appreciate your business and feedback.

We apologize if you did not have ideal staff interactions during your stay. We strive to make each guest feel special and enhance their visit, so we apologize when we don’t see this occurring.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our romantic rooms and private hot tubs. It is so wonderful to have our balcony Hot Tubs and our guests can enjoy themselves within the comfort of their own room. Thank you for enjoying our romantic rooms and treating yourself at Sycamore Mineral Springs.

We hope you come back to visit us again!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Was very excited about coming to Sycamore Springs and having a relaxing 3 day get away.for my husband and I. The grounds are very nice. Loved the walking trail to Avila Beach. When you drive up the Hotel looks very nice. When we got to our room , was very disappointed on the outdated and cleanliness of them. Had a problem with toilet. Had to ask house cleaning to vacuum( was needed) the hot tub was very old and not all jets were working. ( made the best of it,) A little expansive for how worn it was. We feel some good cleaning and updated features would really make a difference.Not sure if I would spend over 2 hundred a night to stay here again. Did have couples massage. And it was Great!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We greatly appreciate your feedback and time in writing a review.

We are happy you were able to come enjoy our grounds and the walking trail to Avila Beach. We really do enjoy where our resort is located – so peaceful and quiet but a quick trip to Avila Beach if that’s where you would like to spend a day or take a bike ride to.

We are sorry to hear of your outdated room. We do have older facilities as Sycamore Mineral Springs is over 100 years old – however we are in the process of updating all of our Guest Rooms. So far, we have done our West Meadows King suites and we are now in the process of updating all of our Queen Suites. Along with our rooms, we are updating all of our Guest Room Hot Tubs as well! Eventually – we will have all of our Guest Rooms updated and remodeled – as we are aware of this concern.

We will address the cleanliness of the carpet with the Housekeeping department – thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We hope to see you again in the future to experience our newly updated rooms.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed in their Guest House for 2 nights with 7 girlfriends. We all loved it! It was very spacious although some felt it could be updated and the kitchen better stocked..Staff was very cordial and receptive. Restaurant food delicious and waiter was very attentive and met all our needs. Everyone loved their spa treatments. Pleasant walk to Avila Beach and it's a fun beach town. We all want to bring our husbands back!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and stay to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are happy to receive your review and appreciate the time it takes in writing one.

We are so glad to hear of your fun trip with your Girlfriends. The Guest House is a wonderful place to stay, to relax, enjoy and make memories. We are happy to hear you received cordial and receptive service throughout your stay between our Hotel, Spa, and Restaurant Staff. We have great amenities throughout our Resort and we are happy when Guests are able to enjoy them thoroughly.

Thank you again for your Girls Getaway to Sycamore Springs and we look forward to seeing your back with your Husbands – or the girls again!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I booked a room here because we were attending a wedding. We arrived days before the wedding and spent time in the surrounding area which is very picturesque. There is very nice 2 mile walking trail to Avila Beach (which is a good spot for dinner) and the resort is just 5 or 6 miles from downtown San Luis Obispo where one can find some really nice restaurants. Our room, which was located in a section separate from the main hotel, was surprisingly spacious and included a separate living room and hot tub. It was a bit of a walk from the main hotel parking area, but we liked that. The main restaurant was very good, though a bit on the expensive side, especially for breakfast. The staff was very helpful and responsive whenever we needed anything. As for the wedding, the hotel did an excellent job with the party and food that followed the wedding. We would stay again at the Sycamore if we returned to the area. The only issue we had was with the TV. The programming was somewhat limited and on one day we had difficulty with the picture. Perhaps that was a passing problem.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book a room in the section apart from the main hotel. It is much more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We appreciate your time in writing a review and enjoy hearing your feedback.

We are so happy you and your wife were able to come to the area a few days early to enjoy Sycamore and the surrounding areas. We really are lucky to live and work in a wonderful area like Avila Beach and San Luis Obispo.

Thank you for enjoying our restaurant and we are happy to hear you had good service. We are also glad to hear that the food was excellent for the wedding guests!

Our newly remodeled West Meadows Suites are beautiful and although a bit of a walk, they make for prefect privacy during a romantic getaway. We are sorry to hear about the TV issues – we will check in on this issue.

Thank you again for your stay and we are so happy everything went well. We hope to see you back in the future. Until then, take care!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is purely a romantic getaway, and it's delightful. I wouldn't necessarily advise a family to stay here. There's nothing for children to do. However, if a couple stays here, they will have a splendid time. My girlfriend and I loved the relaxing hot tubs in the morning. We did a yoga class in the afternoon. Then late in the day, we walked the scenic trail walk by the river that led to the beach. It couldn't have been more romantic and enjoyable. Also, the dinner at the hotel restaurant was delicious. We did the Christmas dinner, and we were pleasantly surprised by the gourmet style cuisine. My girlfriend and I have been back since our first visit. Next time we plan on getting some spa treatments.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private hot tub. It's very convenient and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are happy to receive your feedback.

We are so glad you and your girlfriend were able to have a romantic getaway at Sycamore. Our private balcony and patio Hot Tubs in the rooms really are a wonderful amenity. As are our on-site hiking and biking trails – which link to the ocean.

It really sounds like you all were able to enjoy the full essence of Sycamore including our Yoga Dome and wonderful Restaurant. Next time, be sure to receive Spa Treatments as our Spa is Award-Winning and really a great treat.

Thank you again for your continued business. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The area is very pretty. There are great hiking trails and something about being there makes you feel relaxed. If you get a room do not get anything in the "adventure building". In general the spa guestrooms are not as nice as any of the other rooms. In particular don't get a downstairs room. The other rooms are nicer but most still need to be upgraded. The rooms are big. Most of the rooms do not have air conditioning. The staff are all very nice. Everyone was helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs. We appreciate your time in writing a review – we always like hearing guest feedback.

We are glad you experienced helpful customer service during your stay. We really are lucky with the area and grounds that Sycamore encompasses. It’s peaceful, quiet, and amongst nature providing a relaxed setting.

We have completed all renovations of our West Meadows Spa Suites, which turned out gorgeous. Currently, we are now renovating another portion of our hotel rooms. All in all, our entire complete remodel should be completed by 2016. In which all of the guest rooms and spas will be updated.

Thank you for your review and we hope you will be able to visit us again to experience our newly updated rooms and resort.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.