We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing splendor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing splendor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is purely a romantic getaway, and it's delightful. I wouldn't necessarily advise a family to stay here. There's nothing for children to do. However, if a couple stays here, they will have a splendid time. My girlfriend and I loved the relaxing hot tubs in the morning. We did a yoga class in the afternoon. Then late in the day, we walked the scenic trail walk by the river that led to the beach. It couldn't have been more romantic and enjoyable. Also, the dinner at the hotel restaurant was delicious. We did the Christmas dinner, and we were pleasantly surprised by the gourmet style cuisine. My girlfriend and I have been back since our first visit. Next time we plan on getting some spa treatments.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private hot tub. It's very convenient and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are happy to receive your feedback.

We are so glad you and your girlfriend were able to have a romantic getaway at Sycamore. Our private balcony and patio Hot Tubs in the rooms really are a wonderful amenity. As are our on-site hiking and biking trails – which link to the ocean.

It really sounds like you all were able to enjoy the full essence of Sycamore including our Yoga Dome and wonderful Restaurant. Next time, be sure to receive Spa Treatments as our Spa is Award-Winning and really a great treat.

Thank you again for your continued business. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    340
    164
    111
    77
See reviews for
153
744
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The area is very pretty. There are great hiking trails and something about being there makes you feel relaxed. If you get a room do not get anything in the "adventure building". In general the spa guestrooms are not as nice as any of the other rooms. In particular don't get a downstairs room. The other rooms are nicer but most still need to be upgraded. The rooms are big. Most of the rooms do not have air conditioning. The staff are all very nice. Everyone was helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs. We appreciate your time in writing a review – we always like hearing guest feedback.

We are glad you experienced helpful customer service during your stay. We really are lucky with the area and grounds that Sycamore encompasses. It’s peaceful, quiet, and amongst nature providing a relaxed setting.

We have completed all renovations of our West Meadows Spa Suites, which turned out gorgeous. Currently, we are now renovating another portion of our hotel rooms. All in all, our entire complete remodel should be completed by 2016. In which all of the guest rooms and spas will be updated.

Thank you for your review and we hope you will be able to visit us again to experience our newly updated rooms and resort.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I ordered the romance package and called two hours before arriving to verify it will be set up and it was not. Even though we had a do not disturb sign on the door, we found maintenance still knocking to install a new device to the TV which did not work properly and they could not fix it until the next day after we checked out. I asked to have an air conditioner return vent filter replaced because of noises (Appeared filter had not been replaced for several months) and to spray a squeaky door while there, I removed the filter myself and the door was never fixed. There is a window in the shower that are along the walkway for people to see. not much privacy. rooms over the bridge are the best and this is where we stayed. Happy hour and tacos in the bar were good. Went twice. Hillside tubs are nice. Resort in a good location for other activities and bike riding to the beach. Because of bellman, the experience was tolerable and may return in hopes these were isolated issues. Our rooms were newly remodeled but lacked small details for friendlier use.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I booked 2 queen suites through hotel at online prices. They confirmed by email and phone before visit. When I arrived they told me I had 2 double bed rooms, in darkest ugliest part of hotel would not honor reservations nothing I could do but except. Bellman Michael and hostess very nice accommodating. Would never go back. They did comp meal in restaurant. Very good

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and trip to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We appreciate your feedback and review as it helps us continue to grow.

We are so sorry that there was such a huge miscommunication regarding your reservation. There is no explanation other than a very mixed up series of communication between our staff. Again, we are very sorry especially that we could not move you to your desired room as we were completely booked. We do hope that the comped meal in the restaurant helped express our regret in not being able to accommodate you to your original booking.

We do hope to see you again in the future. Please do try and visit us again so we may right what was a wrong situation. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcutt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was a great destination for our Honeymoon! My husband and I spent a few nights at Sycamore before flying out to the Caribbean. It was a great way to relax. They have great service, amazing rooms, and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Cambria,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We appreciate you writing a review and all feedback we can receive from customers.

Congratulations on your recent marriage! Such an exciting time and we feel honored that you chose Sycamore as part of your honeymoon getaway.

Sycamore is the perfect place to relax, especially after planning and having a wedding! We are happy you were able to sit back, enjoy our rooms and accommodations and each other.

Thank you for the kind review. Hope to see you again soon. And hope the Caribbean was amazing! Cheers.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncans Mills, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at Sycamore Springs in Feb. of this year. It was our 30th Anniversary and I read lots of reviews of this property. My first piece of advise is take everything with a grain of salt. After reading the negative reviews about noise and privacy issues, I decided to book a suite across the highway and was not disappointed. It was a beautiful room. I got the romance package and the room was decorated with rose petals throughout. I also requested wine instead of champagne and it was a very nice bottle. The hot tub was fantastic. I loved the fact you filled it yourself....very fresh and clean. The only issue I had with this beautiful room was when I was taking a shower the water went cold. I could hear the shower in the next suite running, so I knew it was an on demand system and probably did not handle the load. I called the front desk and someone was there in less than 10 minutes. When checked in early and the room was not ready, but the staff at the front desk was very nice and we went for a bike ride while we waited. They called us as soon as it was ready and took us over to our room in a golf cart, which you can request for any trip back and forth. It is an easy and pretty walk, but if you need the ride, they are more than happy to give you one. If you are a mountain biker or cycler, this area is fantastic. We actually road our bikes up the STEEP dirt road behind the resort, over the mountain and into the neighboring community, down the paved road and ended up in Avila Beach. From there we took the beautiful paved bike path back to the resort and into our awesome room. The first night we took advantage of happy hour in the bar/lounge and were so satisfied with the food and portions that we just went back to the room...and back into the tub! We had dinner in the restaurant the second night and it was outstanding. Wonderful service, intimate setting and over the top food! We also visited Montana De Oro State park for some mountain biking and it was spectacular. We did not use the tubs on the hill as ours was so private, there was no need. Again, maybe there was some chipped paint, but other than that it was a great experience. Remember, do your research. You get what you pay for. I actually feel we got more than we paid for and I would book there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The rooms on the other side of the highway are excellent and are very private. We were there mid-wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We appreciate your time in writing a review. We value all feedback we can receive – especially one of this nature.

We are happy to hear your trip was such a pleasant experience. From the Romance Package setup, to the biking trails, your private hot tub and the delicious meals in The Gardens, we are happy to hear that all went flawlessly well.

As far as the hot water running out during your shower, we have already altered our hot water systems so this doesn’t occur again, as this was a tendency after the remodel. We are glad that someone was able to come out immediately to access the situation for you.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we definitely look forward to hosting you again for another romantic getaway. Our suites will be waiting 

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The personal hot tub was absolutely awesome! It made us so relaxed we didn't want to leave. The only down side was the bed. It was too high up and way too soft. We slept terribly. The shower was cool because it had two heads but our toilet didn't flush properly. Overall go for the hot tub.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Anissa,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We thank you for your time in writing a review.

We are glad to hear you were able to fully enjoy your Mineral Spring Hot Tub. It’s so nice when guests are able to let go of everyday stresses and really relax in our tubs. It’s such a great amenity we have here at Sycamore to be atop natural mineral springs and be able to offer that to guests.

We are sorry to hear the bed was too high and too soft – we are actually hoping to get step stools for the higher beds. Also, in the future, please let us know of any problems your room is experiencing – such as the toilet flush and we will be more than happy to send someone out to take a look.

Thank you again for your recent visit and we look forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.