We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for the hot tub, leave for a better bed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay for the hot tub, leave for a better bed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The personal hot tub was absolutely awesome! It made us so relaxed we didn't want to leave. The only down side was the bed. It was too high up and way too soft. We slept terribly. The shower was cool because it had two heads but our toilet didn't flush properly. Overall go for the hot tub.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Anissa,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We thank you for your time in writing a review.

We are glad to hear you were able to fully enjoy your Mineral Spring Hot Tub. It’s so nice when guests are able to let go of everyday stresses and really relax in our tubs. It’s such a great amenity we have here at Sycamore to be atop natural mineral springs and be able to offer that to guests.

We are sorry to hear the bed was too high and too soft – we are actually hoping to get step stools for the higher beds. Also, in the future, please let us know of any problems your room is experiencing – such as the toilet flush and we will be more than happy to send someone out to take a look.

Thank you again for your recent visit and we look forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    229
    114
    84
    55
See reviews for
97
477
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hanford
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The bathroom had hair in the sink and it was so loud that we couldn't sleep. We really really excited about staying there and I was disappointed. Not sure if we will try it again or not....hope other people had a better stay!





  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The property is offers a true mineral springs experience. The spa services were very good; walking/biking trails to beach and hill top are on the property and wind through the gorgeous country side to Avilla Beach and beyond.
I would recommend the queen or king suites for more space and luxury. They are large, comfortable, and have private mineral spring hot tubs. They are all slightly dated but are being updated and modernized in the 2014 off-season. The normal rooms are small but all have hot tub.
Staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The food at the restaurant is Excellent

Room Tip: Go for the queen or king suites. The rooms over the walkway will provide total privacy and modern fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Gary,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and stay to Sycamore Mineral Springs. We appreciate the time it takes for customers to offer feedback and comments as it helps us improve for the future.

We are so happy to hear you were able to enjoy many of Sycamore’s wonderful amenities including our Spa, hiking trails, Avila Beach, private in-room hot tubs and fresh, delicious restaurant. Sycamore really tries to promote taking time for oneself away from the hectic everyday life and really letting go. It sounds like you were able to do this and this makes us happy!

We are currently in the remodel phase of our Queen Suites – we have completely finished and updated all of our West Meadows King Suites and they sure are stunning. We hope you will be able to experience these during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We took a day trip to San Louis Obispo, Pismo Beach, and Avila Beach. We visited the mission and SLO museum which wee nice but it was hot and humid. We then went to the Sycamore Mineral Springs spa and rented a two person hot tub for an hour. My friend is shy of public bathing so this was a perfect way of enjoying the water with a fair amount of privacy. After one hour in the mineral springs we were relaxed, refreshed,and the usual aches, pains, and stresses of driving over two hours were relieved. It was a nice treat and put us in the perfect mood for a nice dinner and the drive home.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Kori,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We appreciate your business and the time to write a review.

It sounds like you had a very fun, well-rounded day on the Central Coast. It’s such a great area to explore! We are glad you made it in to Sycamore to ease your travelled bodies. The Mineral Water really does improve aches and pains and is such a great feature at Sycamore.

We hope to see you again in future. Thank you again and be well!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have enjoyed numerous stays at this facility and were excited for a quick get a way. We stayed in newly renovated room, but the hot tub needed attention. The water was warm at best, the jets were very weak (non-existent). In fact, the general water pressure was poor. We contacted the front desk and did not seem to gather any attention in this matter. The receptionist took notes, but again seemed to dismiss the concerns brought forward.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We loved the room and felt like the price was actually pretty reasonable for all you got. Wish we could have stayed longer. The only downside was the meal at the onsite restaurant- which we felt was over priced for the actual quality. The service was fine, but for that much $$ I expected scallops to be a LITTLE bigger or at least well cooked. Mine were tough and overdone. Everything else was magnificent !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sycamore for my birthday recently and I was so impressed. The accomodations were beautiful and the staff very friendly. Thank you Sycamore! It was such a plesent stay. Can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are so happy you were able to celebrate your birthday with us! Great to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, the grounds and the staff. We can’t wait to have you guys back again! Thank you for writing a review and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.