We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hidden Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
1 review
“The Hidden Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Tucked away off of the 101, on the road to Avila Beech, is the enchanted hillside and roaming mineral springs, garden, and spa resort. Not only is the hotel staff amazing, like manager Amy, with her sweet disposition and love for children, all of the bellman that drive you to your suite in golf carts remember your name and greet you anytime day or night, but the staff in the boutique too is fun. Now about the food. I am a foodie and I have to say this is 5 star dining at its finest! From their signature dishes, to cooking out of their own garden, displaying the local businesses that provide for the restaurant to the staff being able to describe flavors of every dish. Amazing! When the chef came out and made us a tomato and fresh herb tea, I was blown away. They marry flavors I have NEVER heard of before and they are delightful. I am a forever guest.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the king suites...quiet, peaceful, tranquil and a spa on your own deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    380
    184
    117
    81
See reviews for
173
820
48
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This resort has many, many things to recommend it. A comfortable, well furnished room, with a hot tub; access to hiking paths, including a near by walk to the beach, and beautiful surroundings. Do not expect the Ritz-Carlton. It's rustic. Yes, the TV was not great, but just skip watching and soak in the hot tub instead! Our king bed was fantastic after a late night soak!

We also enjoyed the happy hour in the bar. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Do the happy hour in the bar. Great food, and it's affordable too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A friend recommended Sycamore so we booked 2 nights on our road trip north. There are several choices of room types which are not completely clear on the website. Anyway, we booked a room with a balcony hot tub but, on arrival, we found it was a large, older room with only one queen bed. We also quickly learned there was no heat in this room but were offered a plugin heater which I declined. After some discussion, we were offered a room in their newer section across the road for an increase of $20 per night which I accepted. The room was an awesome 1 bedroom apartment with a huge king size bed. The living room had a flat screen TV and a fireplace which warmed the room quickly. All that and the private balcony hot tub made our days.

We also tried the hillside hot tub with more sulphur content which I enjoyed but it was a little too hot for my wife. There is no temperature control like there is on the room hot tub which you fill yourself.

There were some negative comments about walking from the new section. It is long but the hotel will pick you up in a golf cart when asked.

If you like to run/walk/bike, there is a bike path from the property that goes all the way to Avila Beach---about 2 miles each way. It's a beautiful area passing fields, streams, orchards, housing and a golf course.

Room Tip: Get a room in the newer section on the west side if the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just as the other reviews here, we found it lacking in certain areas, nice in some and chintzy in others. We liked having a hot tub on the deck from our queen spa suite. Nice big two person shower. High comfy bed (though pillows were not comfortable). A frig , but certainly could have used a microwave considering there is only a restaurant on the premises ($12 for a bowl of oatmeal. Seriously?). Again, as others have said, the whole place needs some updating and for what they charge they can afford it. Niceties include warm pool, yoga classes included, robes to use, mainly helpful staff (though we only found out there is a voucher for a wine tasting after we read it here), nice bedding, across from pretty walking trails and meditation labyrinth, close drive/walk to beach. Chintzy in aforementioned pillow, no body wash (though bar soap ), not even a free pastry or brewed coffee in the a.m. in lobby, no comfy chairs or ambiance (unless you like dead plants) on suite's too open "private" deck. The spa next to the pool should be included for all guests, but, alas, they charge extra for that. Pool and outdoor hot tub need resurfacing. Made us sign paper saying we understood check out was by 11 a.m.!! Really chintzy: while there is an in-room coffee maker, there is only that disgusting powder "creamer" vs. tubettes of real half and half. Ick. Even the cheapest motels offer half and half. Also, we thought it was an adults only facility (used to be) but there were plenty of kids around - I love kids (even have one of my own), but not at the "romantic" getaway they bill this as. On the other hand, we discovered Avila Village Inn down the road a short distance and will check that out next time.

Room Tip: Some rooms are up the hill (walking) from parking, so ask when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The room was a great size but the furniture and fixtures were outdated and what resort does not have a flat screen TV? The bedroom TV(not a flat screen) did not work (maybe because it was OLD...).It was nice to have our own Jacuzzi...but it was OLD and the patio was very unattractive (dead plants, broken planter boxes,old unmatched patio chairs etc). I did walk around the property and realized the entire property could use a bit of a "facelift"....I noticed the outdoor heaters in the restaurant were bent , broken and rusted.....not the best look as you walk into the hotel...On a positive note....the front desk clerk was very nice....
Overall I do believe this hotel is in need of some real "TLC". I also think there are a lot of options in the area that are worth the $ to pay that are updated. Would I recommend? Probably not....

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms at the end may have less "road traffic" noise... But overall it looks lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Lani,

We are glad you were able to make your Central Coast stay here at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We value all of our guests’ comments and concerns as it helps us grow and attempt to meet each guest’s satisfaction, which we see there were some aspects of the resort that did not meet your satisfaction.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced while staying at Sycamore. Your outlook on the resort helps us make it better each day and we appreciate your comments. Sycamore is in the process of giving itself a “facelift,” as we have also noticed some areas that need more attention.

Renovations take time so we appreciate all of our past, current and future guests’ patience while we make updates throughout the resort. We hope you choose Sycamore again in the future, as we would be honored to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed 9/2013 The room was outdated, over priced and the jacuzzi tub was really old made of plastic and the jets didn't really work. The jets were loud. The room was spacious but it wasn't worth the price. For the price you pay there can at least be complimentary break fast.
Will stick with Sea Crest Resort, Pismo Beach. So much for trying something new!
The check in staff was snooty and rude. Will not recommend to Family or Friends. The positives were Avila beach, Mr. Ricks Bar 4 miles away and the Apple Valley Barn about a mile away.

Room Tip: Have always stayed at The Sea Crest Resort in Pismo. We just wanted to try something new...So much f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Marie,

We thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We greatly appreciate the time it took for you to write your review. Unfortunately it looks like you were disappointed with some features here at our resort.

While you were unable to enjoy them this visit, we hope you choose Sycamore Resort again in the future as we are currently in the process of updating and renovating our rooms and other aspects of the resort.

We have addressed these issues with the front desk agents and hope this helped future guests have a better experience. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. It was our honor to host your visit, and hope we see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had spent the day around Avila Beach and decided to stop in to see what the mineral tubs are like. The staff was helpful in describing what was available. The tubs are outdoors, scattered over the hillside under the trees, and are secluded (by which I mean private enough). The tub we had was up the hill and surrounded on most sides by a redwood lattice fence and had a bench and hooks. The tub itself was plastic. The area was clean and appealing. They turned on the bubbles for us; it would have been nicer to control them ourselves, since the jets are very noisy and we wanted to enjoy the peacefulness of the night. Also, one of us likes jets better than the other. It's a little uncomfortable to periodically sit out and cool off without getting all the way out of the tub, because the rim is hard and narrow, but sitting on a towel took care of that.

Restrooms were available nearby. There is also a pool that we were curious about, but it was closed.

We paid midweek evening rates. Hint: stop in during the day for $10/person/hour, which is plenty of time. Also bring your own towels and water (both available for a fee).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#7 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
1.4 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.