We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, out dated and rude check in staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs

Save Saved
You added Sycamore Mineral Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs
1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over priced, out dated and rude check in staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed 9/2013 The room was outdated, over priced and the jacuzzi tub was really old made of plastic and the jets didn't really work. The jets were loud. The room was spacious but it wasn't worth the price. For the price you pay there can at least be complimentary break fast.
Will stick with Sea Crest Resort, Pismo Beach. So much for trying something new!
The check in staff was snooty and rude. Will not recommend to Family or Friends. The positives were Avila beach, Mr. Ricks Bar 4 miles away and the Apple Valley Barn about a mile away.

Room Tip: Have always stayed at The Sea Crest Resort in Pismo. We just wanted to try something new...So much f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Marie,

We thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We greatly appreciate the time it took for you to write your review. Unfortunately it looks like you were disappointed with some features here at our resort.

While you were unable to enjoy them this visit, we hope you choose Sycamore Resort again in the future as we are currently in the process of updating and renovating our rooms and other aspects of the resort.

We have addressed these issues with the front desk agents and hope this helped future guests have a better experience. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. It was our honor to host your visit, and hope we see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    204
    112
    74
    54
See reviews for
92
432
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had spent the day around Avila Beach and decided to stop in to see what the mineral tubs are like. The staff was helpful in describing what was available. The tubs are outdoors, scattered over the hillside under the trees, and are secluded (by which I mean private enough). The tub we had was up the hill and surrounded on most sides by a redwood lattice fence and had a bench and hooks. The tub itself was plastic. The area was clean and appealing. They turned on the bubbles for us; it would have been nicer to control them ourselves, since the jets are very noisy and we wanted to enjoy the peacefulness of the night. Also, one of us likes jets better than the other. It's a little uncomfortable to periodically sit out and cool off without getting all the way out of the tub, because the rim is hard and narrow, but sitting on a towel took care of that.

Restrooms were available nearby. There is also a pool that we were curious about, but it was closed.

We paid midweek evening rates. Hint: stop in during the day for $10/person/hour, which is plenty of time. Also bring your own towels and water (both available for a fee).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The resort is just average and overpriced for what it offers. Considering the fact that there was a private patio with a mineral spring water tub, we were expecting a romantic atmosphere , quiet setting and starry sky above our heads. However the sky view was abstracted with a roof, a plastic jacuzzi was nothing special and the patio was not even properly secluded.
The room was clean, but small and outdated. The water smelled like it was mixed with lots of chlorine anyway. The worst part is that a major road is pretty close to the hotel so the traffic may keep you awake at night. The territory needs some face-lifting as well. We felt like we were at a cheap motel rather than at a somewhat luxurious resort for this price.
The front desk staff was not very friendly and did not present all the information that could be useful. For example they didn't even mention a complimentary access to a nearby mineral pool or a voucher to a local winery testing room. They only revealed it upon our request.
There are some positive aspects though: a proximity to the Olympic size public mineral pool, beautiful hike trails start right there, a bike rental is at the resort, they have yoga classes, pool, a fitness center and spa. I liked the chef's garden and thought that wild turkeys walking around the parking lot is a cute addition. The short drive on See Canyon leads to local wineries and apple farms. Avila Beach downtown is a gem and Port San Luis Harbor is magnificent!
As they say in real estate: the place has a lot of potential but needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We are glad you chose to make your stay at Sycamore. Your comments are of value to us and we appreciate you taking the time to make a review.

We noticed that the property did not meet all of your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay. We have addressed the front desk issues so that every guest upon check-in will know about the wine tasting voucher, and mineral pool access. Also, we are in the process of renovating and updating every room on the property. This is a longer process, however, so we appreciate your patience.

We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful hiking trails, spa and free yoga classes that the resort offers and hope you will be back to experience them again and see the updated rooms! Thank you again for staying at Sycamore and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times. The mineral tubs are amazing! They have also seemed to have really tried to improve the quality of the rooms. On our last visit we were only able to make from the hot tub to the bed, and from the hot tub to the bed. The bed was SOOOOO comfortable that we literally could not get out to even go to the restuarant! We chose to eat crackers and cheese. The water is healing and soaks into your muscles and bones. I do sure wish they would find a way to put some seating into the rooms. A comfortable chair would sure be nice. No wonder we went straight to the bed! We drive 6 hours to visit Pismo Beach every year and this spot is a must stop. The front desk staff and the reservation phone people are a joy. Especially Erin! He really went out of his way to give us a through description and comparison of the rooms. Our only complaints were the gift shop gals were extremely rude! And even after we spent $100.00 on gifts! Also we used to love to rent the tubs by the hour on the hill. You could always refill your tub to your preferred temp. and with fresh water. Now it seems a little nasty to know your iin water that people are getting "romantic" in and you can't put new water in. Plus it is now chlorinated (for that reason). It truly detracts from the whole mineral water properties. No more tubs by the hour for us. We will just have to rent a room.

Room Tip: The rooms on the hill are best. The Harmony building is perfect. If you get a room off of the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

my daughter and i had the best time here. Fun riding the golf car. we brought our snacks. hot tub in the suite was very nice. this place was like being on a tropical island. lots of things to do, drive in movie, shopping and visiting the beach. The sleep was the best, it rained and we sleep like queens

Room Tip: hot tub in the suite (fresh water) is what we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I brought a friend here for dinner about a month ago. The restaurant was practically empty yet we were kept waiting for 45 minutes. Back tonite with another friend for drinks and appetizers. There are 3 servers congregated at the bar but none of them are interested in their customers. Have been here 20 minutes without a return to our table to take our food order. And the bar is empty except for one couple. I wonder why?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were upgraded to a suite but this did mean a rather long walk with bags as it cannot be accessed any other way than on foot.
A private hot tub for the room was lovely and by warm. However, we could still hear the main highway from our room which was only a stones throw away.

In room dining was poor quality but may have just had an off day from the chef.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your accommodation needs. We are certainly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your private hot tub. I apologize that you had to carry your bags the long distance to your suite. We do have bellmen who offer at time of check-in to transport all luggage to guest's rooms anywhere throughout the property.

We value your comments, it helps us continue to give our guests a relaxing and memorable experience. I will be passing your comments regarding your dining experience to our Executive Chef. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience in the restaurant.

We appreciate your loyalty to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Mineral Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.