We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs

Save Saved
You added Sycamore Mineral Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs
1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Diego
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times. The mineral tubs are amazing! They have also seemed to have really tried to improve the quality of the rooms. On our last visit we were only able to make from the hot tub to the bed, and from the hot tub to the bed. The bed was SOOOOO comfortable that we literally could not get out to even go to the restuarant! We chose to eat crackers and cheese. The water is healing and soaks into your muscles and bones. I do sure wish they would find a way to put some seating into the rooms. A comfortable chair would sure be nice. No wonder we went straight to the bed! We drive 6 hours to visit Pismo Beach every year and this spot is a must stop. The front desk staff and the reservation phone people are a joy. Especially Erin! He really went out of his way to give us a through description and comparison of the rooms. Our only complaints were the gift shop gals were extremely rude! And even after we spent $100.00 on gifts! Also we used to love to rent the tubs by the hour on the hill. You could always refill your tub to your preferred temp. and with fresh water. Now it seems a little nasty to know your iin water that people are getting "romantic" in and you can't put new water in. Plus it is now chlorinated (for that reason). It truly detracts from the whole mineral water properties. No more tubs by the hour for us. We will just have to rent a room.

Room Tip: The rooms on the hill are best. The Harmony building is perfect. If you get a room off of the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    204
    111
    74
    54
See reviews for
91
432
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

my daughter and i had the best time here. Fun riding the golf car. we brought our snacks. hot tub in the suite was very nice. this place was like being on a tropical island. lots of things to do, drive in movie, shopping and visiting the beach. The sleep was the best, it rained and we sleep like queens

Room Tip: hot tub in the suite (fresh water) is what we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I brought a friend here for dinner about a month ago. The restaurant was practically empty yet we were kept waiting for 45 minutes. Back tonite with another friend for drinks and appetizers. There are 3 servers congregated at the bar but none of them are interested in their customers. Have been here 20 minutes without a return to our table to take our food order. And the bar is empty except for one couple. I wonder why?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were upgraded to a suite but this did mean a rather long walk with bags as it cannot be accessed any other way than on foot.
A private hot tub for the room was lovely and by warm. However, we could still hear the main highway from our room which was only a stones throw away.

In room dining was poor quality but may have just had an off day from the chef.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your accommodation needs. We are certainly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your private hot tub. I apologize that you had to carry your bags the long distance to your suite. We do have bellmen who offer at time of check-in to transport all luggage to guest's rooms anywhere throughout the property.

We value your comments, it helps us continue to give our guests a relaxing and memorable experience. I will be passing your comments regarding your dining experience to our Executive Chef. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience in the restaurant.

We appreciate your loyalty to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The front desk was very unhelpful. The room was 77 and there was no AC. It took a while to convince them that we needed a fan. It took then even longer to get one.

The place itself has no charm, looks rundown, sparse, hottubs chipping. My impression was tired, rundown, in need of a facelift. The gardens were very pretty. Villa beach is walkable distance.

We stayed before several year prior and our experience was very different.
There was no concierge service either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your accommodation needs. We value your comments and apologize for your displeasure.

We appreciate your patience as we are in the process of updating the furnishings in our rooms and around the property. We have updated several items this year including beds, televisions, couches, and paint. We will be updating additional furnishings and hope to have all of our rooms complete in the near future.

I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful gardens located on property, as well as the short walk/ride up the trail to Avila Beach. I apologize for the time it took to get you a fan and the inconvenience it caused you. We do indeed have bellmen to assist you during your stay. Our intention is to offer excellent guest service and strive to exceed the expectations and experience of every guest at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We have addressed your specific issue and hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
It was an honor to host your stay during your visit to the beautiful Central Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night. We were looking forward to spending time soaking in the mineral spring tubs in the room and around the property.
We arrived a little early for our check in but were promised we would be called within an hour when our room was ready. That call never came. After 2 hours we returned to check in to see if the room was ready, which it was.
Check-in was straight forward till we were told we only had access to the hot tub in our room. I thought we could use any available hot tub on the property, no!, that would cost an extra fee, but we paid a "resort fee" what was that for? We were told internet access, yoga class (we don't do yoga) and the swimming pool (which closed at dusk and we were not allowed to use).
We did not feel welcome as we walked around to view the amenities and the gift shop. On 3 separate occasions by 3 different people we were questioned "can I help you?" in a tone that reminded me of Julia Roberts in Pretty women trying to shop on Rodeo Drive. This is not a friendly place.
The room was nice and comfortable but the phone message light flashed constant and we could not get to stop.
At 4 in the morning the people in the room above us must have been packing and doing their daily walk because for 1-1/2 hours they went back and forth across the room, sounding like a herd of elephants. The sound proofing between floors is non-existent.
Now full disclosure, on check out I complained to the manager and he did agree to "comp" some of our cost back to us, I don't know if this has happened yet. I will up date when it does.
A better I dea would be to stay at another hotel and visit to use the hot tubs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your comments and apologize for your displeasure. The resort fee does indeed include the opportunity to participate in our daily yoga, Pilates, and tai-chi classes. We also have hiking and walking trails, a labyrinth, meditation gardens, a heated pool, complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby, and free wireless internet- all included in the $15 resort fee.

Our hillside hot tubs are rented by the hour, but every room located on the resort has its own private balcony mineral spring hot tub. It is unfortunate that the guests above you made too much noise early in the morning. Anytime a guest contacts the front desk about a noise—and any other issue—our goal is to address the complaint immediately. Nevertheless, we did provide a refund because we want to ensure our guests are happy with their stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in one of the outer suites, and were very pleased with the isolation and quiet. Our daughter and her boyfriend were in the attached suite, so our schedules matched, but the only noise we heard was a shower running, and we heard that only when we were also in the bathroom--nothing came through the walls. Everyone at Sycamore was very friendly and helpful, and the room was lovely. We had a "sample" dinner in the dining room where the chef prepared what he liked for us, and as each of the 5+ courses had at least two different offerings, we got to sample a great deal, and were very full by the end of the meal. Our only complaint is that the water heater heats up enough water for only one hot tub, so, after a very full day, both rooms ended up with each room having only a half tub of lukewarm water and we didn't get the soak we'd envisioned.

Room Tip: If you have your own hot tub, fill it early and let it cool so you won't be in competition with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest

We value your comments and appreciate the time you took to fill out an online review of Sycamore.  We were certainly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and dining experience! We are actually in the process of changing the water heaters in the rooms so that there would be an unlimited supply of hot water on demand. We have accomplished this in approximately 2/3rds of our West Meadows rooms and are working to complete this in the near future. Thank you again and we look forward to having you return to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Mineral Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.