We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too short” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma County, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“too short”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We unfortunately arrived late in the day and had to leave the next morning. The staff was lovely, our room with 2 queens was very clean and comfortable.We were up on the hill and the outside was not inviting but the inside was great.
I like having a personal hot tub without chlorine that gets emptied and cleaned after each guest. Lovely walks and a beautiful labyrinth.
I would definitely go back and have more time to explore.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    371
    180
    117
    80
See reviews for
172
802
48
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our first visit was amazing. We loved the west meadow room - they are beautiful with fireplace, separate living room, patio tub, and there is a nice walking trail. We loved our stay so much we went back some months later. This time we were advised by the phone reservations operator to stay in the Basic Room because I had decided to ask if all the tubs had real hot springs water, and was informed that only the basic rooms did. So, the Basic room is what we selected for our second visit which was on a summer day.

The room located was on a steep hill, dark with the shade of many oak trees. The walk was steep and we had to carry our luggage and bags uphill from the car, then found the room and pool inhabited by mosquitoes. We had no interest in sitting out in that tub with hungry mosquitoes. These rooms on the hill have no air conditioning so one would need to keep windows/door open to cool down the room in summertime. We really disliked this room as it was humming with mosquitoes. Also, it looked like we were the only ones staying in this block of rooms and so it was unusually quiet. Perhaps other guests knew better.

I very much plan to return to this hotel because of the wonderful time we had with the Suite room. I need to make sure that it is a suite! I would just strongly advise to avoid the Basic Rooms. What a huge difference.

Room Tip: Avoid the Basic Rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We live about 2 hours away but consistently return to Sycamore MS for weekend getaways. The meadow suites are worth it... Feels comfy, just upscale enough, and the surrounding grounds are quite soothing. Took a yoga class at the resort and it was fantastic, great personal attention. Service is A+. Food at the cafe or in nearby village is decent, helped by the fact it is mostly grown fresh at nearby farms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had been looking forward to a spa visit at Sycamore Mineral Springs, and was hugely disappointed with the experience ... mainly the disgusting condition of the mineral pool for my "complimentary" soak. I'd quietly mentioned the condition of the pool to every staff member I came in contact with, and was told the pools were public, and can't be emptied and cleaned every day. Uh ... WHAT? That's just gross, considering what some of the "public" do in those steamy, stewing pits. I understand that mineral water smells like sulpher, and leaves brown stains, but c'mon ... a public jacuzzi needs to be emptied and cleaned more frequently ... not less. The spa treatments were okay ... nothing spectacular, and were higher priced than a private practitioner. But I expected that, given that the place has a rep with locals, as being "corporate", with a move 'em in and out attitude. Definately not geared to personal service or doing anything to insure a return custormer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to answer your questions regarding our mineral spring hot tubs. I am sorry that we did not communicate it clearly upon your visit and it left you disappointed. We do offer a 30 minute complimentary private mineral spring hot tub soak prior to every spa treatment as well as rent them by the hour. This offering relaxes your muscles prior to your spa treatment which guests find unique and very beneficial and allows them to get the most therapeutic value of their spa treatments. The mineral rich water in our hot tubs are naturally derived from aquifers under ground. Our hot tubs are equipped with an ecological system that consistently circulates the fresh mineral water in every hot tub all day and night while conserving this precious natural resource. The water does contain natural minerals that can leave colors of oxidation in our hot tubs. Our hot tubs are cleaned regularly and follow the strict guidelines of the local health department to provide a safe, therapeutic and relaxing experience that the earth below us provides to share with our resort guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely property in a secluded woodland atmosphere! Husband and I booked this place on recommendation from our son and just loved it! Stayed in our own private two-room suite with a private hot-tub on the deck. So quiet and peaceful! We hiked, to the lovely forest-like walk to Avila Beach. They even offer Yoga classes! And the restaurant on property is lovely; great gourmet food in a restful atmosphere. Great romantic getaway as well as a family vacation. Be sure and book the private suite/cabins in the rear of the property, you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Book the private suite/cabin in the rear of the property. Ask for a microwave in your room, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great spot to stay in the wintery months, nestled into the countryside just south of San Luis Obispo. The place is blessed with thermal springs so virtually every room has its own jacuzzi out on the deck. Once you're over the sulphury welcoming you can choose to soak in your own space or book one of the many private tubs set into the hillside. The tubs are available on a day rental basis as well. The place has steep terrain in some parts of the complex so if you're elderly or not as fit as you used to be, you might want to ask for a room on the ground floor out the front of the hotel. Place came alive with bird life in the morning which was pretty cool. Avila beach is a mile or so down the road and has a number of decent eateries to dine in. Madonna Inn and its great steakhouse is 5 miles up the freeway. There are a choice of bush walks on offer, varying in distance and difficulty. Check the door to your room if its 'sealed' at the bottom, the only mark down was the cold air that was getting in. Remedied that problem with one of the bathroom towels....just a heads up. Overall I'd give the place an 8 out of 10. A bit pricy but worth it. Specials through to March. Its a nice scenic getaway from the day to day pace of the city and totally relaxing after one of their trademark jacuzzis to soak in. Made for couples looking for a quiet weekend, we had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room out the front of the hotel, you'll be closer to the reception and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hubby and I left for an impromptu road trip. After a hard days driving, Sycamore was a welcome stop. There are 2 basic areas to stay; at the main body of the property or across the road (accessed by a wide bridge). The first looked very crowded and ordinary. We stayed in the more quiet and secluded section. A golf cart takes you across. There are about 4bldgs of 4 units each. The rooms are mini suite like and each has a patio w/ a hot tub. You access the mineral water directly into the tub. It was heaven! The bed had crisp, white sheets and a light down duvet. The decor is not my preference but wasn't a big deal. The rooms could use a slight refurbishing(ie. caulk in the showers, areas of paint fading) but its not dirty or gross. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 946 reviews
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#7 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
1.4 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.