We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avila Garden Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Grover Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avila Garden Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had Thanksgiving dinner here last year and it was fantastic. So, with this in mind a friend made reservations for this years Thanksgiving dinner. What a difference a year makes!! Last year there was bread & butter, a relish appetizer plate, a choice of two salads, two entrees, and two desserts to choose from. This year was a fixed menu served family style. What a let down! It was so chintzy! A plate with a small heap of salad in the middle was brought for the four of us; we had to ask for serve ware. Then the heap of turkey on a plate, a single serve bowl with potatoes and dressing was brought and a bowl of green beans, again we had to ask for serve ware. A tiny single serve pitcher of gravy was brought and we had to ask for another. Dessert was four pieces of "special" toast with a couple of spoonfuls of ice cream and whipped cream. We didn't even get pumpkin pie! We will not be returning! We are unhappy locals:(

Room Tip: NA - We are local and did not get rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    212
    112
    78
    54
See reviews for
93
445
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have been to this resort at least three times and would never hesitate to go again. We have rented a standard suite as well as the cottage and all rooms have been immaculate! Favorite feature by far is of course that each room has it's own private tub that pumps in natural hot springs water. Also love the grounds this resort is so beautiful and the location is stellar! A must visit for any couple!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Best hot spring jacuzzi tub in all guestrooms, not much furniture in the room
very basic but comfortable bed and pillows and patio hot tub with high
fences to keep it private, so you can have fun in the hot mineral spring water
and very basic tub no frilly decoration so plumbing sticking from the tub
so bring your candles and make it romantic.

Room Tip: get a Suite they look much nicer but if you are on a budget the regular room will do just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is such a great place. Very relaxing and the springs are awesome. Friendly staff and food is gourmet. A must stay again for Bella. I had a cool wild turkey encounter, over 20 birds in my back yard. Gobble gobble too cute. !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We are "locals" living about 40 miles away. We have stayed at Sycamore several times and love it. We have stayed here for several anniverseries. It is pretty expensive, but worth it for a romantic get away. We always book a suite because the rooms are so nice. They are large, nicely decorated and very plush. Extra large, extra thick towels. The spas off the rooms are private and very relaxing.

Room Tip: Book a suite, definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited for a couple of nights. Wonderful front-desk staff, beautiful surroundings and a private patio with a hot tub, it doesn't get much better then that!! The staff had our hot tub filling when we got to our room and were extremely helpful with our bags and check-in. The bed, all be it high, was fantastic! Will definitely be coming back and will be telling all of our friends and family about Sycamore!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My hubby and I took a couple of days off to do random things that day, a colleague of his recommended that we spend a night there so I just called the hotel directly, glad they have vacancy since its only thursday and we were surprised by what this place has to offer. The hot tub was very therapeutic maybe it's the mineral spring. The hiking and walking is highly recommended as it is very tranquil and peaceful. The location is perfect, the room we were in was clean and comfortable. The bathroom is ok, I thought it need some upgrading, but overall, it was superb if you want to get away from it all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.