We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Retreat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Retreat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited for a couple of nights. Wonderful front-desk staff, beautiful surroundings and a private patio with a hot tub, it doesn't get much better then that!! The staff had our hot tub filling when we got to our room and were extremely helpful with our bags and check-in. The bed, all be it high, was fantastic! Will definitely be coming back and will be telling all of our friends and family about Sycamore!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    230
    114
    85
    55
See reviews for
97
479
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hanford, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My hubby and I took a couple of days off to do random things that day, a colleague of his recommended that we spend a night there so I just called the hotel directly, glad they have vacancy since its only thursday and we were surprised by what this place has to offer. The hot tub was very therapeutic maybe it's the mineral spring. The hiking and walking is highly recommended as it is very tranquil and peaceful. The location is perfect, the room we were in was clean and comfortable. The bathroom is ok, I thought it need some upgrading, but overall, it was superb if you want to get away from it all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here on the way home from a stressful trip. The moment you stand in the parking lot, the ocean breezes and the sound of the trees smooth your cares away. The front desk people are very friendly, knowledgeable and respectful. The grounds are divine and the suites are honeymoon-worthy. The hot tub that came with the room was wonderful. Sinking into the plush terry robes we found laid out on the bed made the day complete. We will come back as often as we can!

Room Tip: Get a cottage on the other side of the bridge from the main building. It is a little bit of a walk b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed with a girlfriend for the holiday weekend. We stayed in the main hotel Queen Suites. It was sooooo LOUD! Workers went in and out of the garage storage rooms under the rooms. The color of the hotel was circus-like. The best part was Amanda in the restaurant and bar. She was a light each day who was friendly, accommodating and warm. What a stellar employee!! My friend had a massage that she said was one of the best ever. The food was terrific. Overall, I really liked the place, but for the price...it didn't do it for me. I think it's a bit past it's prime. The hot tubs in each room were nice but out dated. The bed was so far off the ground that I had to climb up into it and worried if I had to go to the bathroom int he middle of the night, I'd break an ankle! Too far from LA for a one to two day break...stay in Santa Barbara at the upscale places to get the same results with less time in the car.

Room Tip: Ask for the King rooms - cabins that area away from the hotel and the workers that are always making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We drove into the San Luis Obispo area for a night's stay on our trip down the coast. We booked online on hotels.com before hand. We got to the hotel and the checkin was easy. We stayed in the Meadow suites across the road and the bell hop was more than happy to drive us there and help with the luggage. The room was clean, spacious, quiet, and very secluded. I loved that the most. I hate to hear people in their room next to you when you stay at a hotel. We used the jacuzzi and everything worked fine. The bed was very comfortable also. Checkout was as easy as checkout. No complaints on our stay and i would definetly recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful stay somewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had a great little one night getaway with my boyfriend at Sycamore Mineral Springs. Driving from Los Angeles, we arrived at 12:30 PM (even though we knew check in was 4 PM.) The young lady at the reception informed us the room wasn't ready but would call us if it opened up early and we surprisingly got a call about an hour or so later. We were blown away by the room which we were taken to on a golf cart, how fun! The room was actually two rooms and a deck! The living room had a fireplace which was awesome and it had it's own mineral spa on the deck which was private and surrounded by trees. The bed was awesome and gigantic! The staff that helped us to and from our room were beyond nice. Once we were told the cart was in use and that it might be a little while till it could get us from the restaurant so we decided to walk. A staff member with a cart (who was clearly bringing a guest extra pillows and bedding) saw us and insisted on driving us back and made extra room. We ate at the restaurant which was delicious and ordered room service for breakfast and it was pretty awesome and really quick.

If i had more time I would have liked to walk up the road to Avila Beach, taken a hike, rented a bike. . the possibilities are endless!!

All in all could not have asked for a better getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in two bed suite (elegance) which was good value, clean and with its own private hot tub which was great! Pool is ok, you can book the hot tubs on the hill and its worth it if you like saunas/tubs/privacy. Used the restaurant on last night, excellent service, good food and wine list. All in all a great stop over.

Avila is tiny but cute. Recommend the run on bobs trail about 2 miles each way. My pal said the classes and massage was absolutely first class.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Drive, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.