We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One the of last great theaters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fremont Theater

Fremont Theater
San Luis Obispo, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Classic art deco and neon movie theater.
Grover Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One the of last great theaters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I don't even know what to say about this theater other than you have to go and experience it for yourself. When I was little, we were fascinated with the awesome ceiling in the theaters. It is the old town feel of a movie experience. There is nothing like it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Classic structure of a by gone era, but still viable and fuctional.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We enjoyed an evening at the Fremont, seeing a movie, having drinks and of course some popcorn. This theater is typical of those of a bygone era. That was where one went to enjoy two current main movie events, a comedy and the coming attractions.
I hope they never tear it down but find a way to keep it to remind us of a less complex period in America.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
228 attraction reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Very Dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Fremont has a really nice sign and old fashioned ticket booth. Beyond that, it is just and old theatre in need of refurbishing. Sound system OK. Seats are a bit uncomfortable but adequate. Pretty good legroom.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Central Coast Icon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This Art Deco theater is a Central Coast icon. I do have to say it is a bit run down but so worth going to. It takes me back to a time when going to the movies was an event. Even if your movie isn't so great you'll love the amazing architecture of this beautiful one screen theater in the heart of San Luis Obispo.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This theatre is small kinda creepy, I went for a late night showing, pretty isolated, not to many people out or around. Dark and dingy, sticky floors. Conssesion stand already closed. Weird.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fremont Theater also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Fremont Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fremont Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.