We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Rush Steakhouse, Madonna Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Rush Steak House

Gold Rush Steak House
100 Madonna Road, Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
(800) 543-9666
Website
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 255 restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit
Transit: Bus stop at the entrance to the World famous Madonna Inn property.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gold Rush Steakhouse, Madonna Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have dined out at this steakhouse before and no doubt will again in the future. Big succulent cuts of beef in NY style, ribeye you name it. Looks a bit pricey at first glance but by the time you've finished the steak and everything that comes with them, there aren't many who'd want more. Barbecue grilled, pan fried, it makes no difference, these guys know how to get a decent steak on the table cos they've been doing it for years. Awesome spot for a birthday or get together. Once you've recovered from the saturation of all things pink you'll be chowing down and enjoying one of the better steakhouses on the central coast. Recommend the jacket potato with all the trimmings, they're crazy good. Definitely worth the stop if you're ever in the area, mandatory if you're any sort of steak maniac. Pays to book ahead on the weekends, cos the place can get busy and check out the tourist attraction in the mens' restroom.....(seriously ask about it when you get there).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    30
    15
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Crapshoot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had two entrees, a well-prepared steak and an overcooked, barely edible halibut. Prices too high for what we got. Waitress was pleasant and efficient.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We both had Ruebens and they were delicious. The service was excellent. We went there for breakfast also, because there was a large crowd staying at the hotel we had to wait a bit, but breakfast was great, worth the wait

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPV, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food in a Kitschy Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

OK, I have to admit that it feels like I'm sitting in a French bordello... BUT the food was fantastic! Both the French Filet Mignon (aged beef wrapped in bacon with mushroom caps in a burgundy sauce -- are you drooling?) and Prime Rib were done perfectly. We happen to like LOTS of topping on our baked potato so were satisfied. You probably won't have room but try their desserts. We only saw the tray and everything looked good! The service was great too. We were celebrating our anniversary a wee bit early so told them and received a cute balloon and free piece of their lemon cake (very light and very good). A P.S.: if you like garlic bread (I'm an addict), you will love theirs!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Food, Worth the Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Gold Rush Steak House (Madonna Inn) is a great place to eat, the steaks are tender and delicious. Since it is a steak house menu is mostly meat, but all of the menu items are good. This place is a little on the expensive side, but well worth it for a special occasion, or a night out with family or friends. If you have not been there before the decor in unique, and the staff is friendly and attentive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Rush Steak House also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Gold Rush Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Rush Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Gold Rush Steak House to your Saves list