We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! If you love pink, glam and flowers...this place is for you!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Rush Steak House

Gold Rush Steak House
100 Madonna Road, Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
(800) 543-9666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 258 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit
Transit: Bus stop at the entrance to the World famous Madonna Inn property.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow! If you love pink, glam and flowers...this place is for you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Like no restaurant I have ever been in before!
This place must be seen to believe! The decor is a bit over the top but I just loved it! We travel extensively and have never seen anything like this. The food was good. Salads were fresh and the homemade dressing was a treat. I ordered the shrimp pasta dish, shrimp was
very good sauce and pasta were fine overall I enjoyed the dish but it was a bit overpriced. My husband had the lamb chops which he enjoyed, I tasted them and thought they were very well prepared and seasoned.
The desserts are HUGE!!!! Very tasty, we enjoyed the pink champagne cake.
Overall our experience was good. We enjoyed our dinner. It was quite overpriced but we did enjoy the evening...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better then the Copper Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great food and service. If we would have known about this place, we would have skipped the Madonna inn and Copper Cafe. Great steaks and good menu choices

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Old fashioned food in big portions; for better & worse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The food at the gold rush steak house was in large proportions (the minimum size was 11 oz) and well prepared. The price, of course, was hefty too. This is the old fashioned steak house concept. Don't be surprised when a busload of tourists drifts through taking pictures; you probably will be doing the same. The wine list is reasonable, although again, their prices are on the high side; and the wait staff tend to be pushy about dessert. So, they get high marks on the food taste and quality and they definitely have a limited selection... all of which is big!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“"Pretty in Pink"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were part of a surprise for a friends birthday and it was very well orchestrated with the staff.
The whole dining experience was our first time in the pink palace, and it was great from the moment we sat down. Granted, the room/upholstery is a little long in the tooth, but the tremendous
service and food make up for it.
Three out of four of us had the filet and it was perfectly done! Our waitperson was fabulous and helped make the evening memorable as did the big band,"The Collegians". Dessert, cake was delicious as well, the coconut cake rocked!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“We keep returning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We absolutely love their filet mignon and keep returning for it. Soooooo delicious and tender! The ambience is pretty garish, but we just go with it because we love their food and wine so much. Wonderful service makes it a top-notch dining experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Rush Steak House also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Gold Rush Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Rush Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.