We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous, yummy breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Luis Obispo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1473 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Generous, yummy breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I did not stay here, but I ate breakfast with friends who were here. WOW. Lovely breakfast room with a tea and coffee bar, plus a continental buffet (fruit, juices, home baked goodies), PLUS two cooked to order entree selections: egg and brie strata or banana-coconut pancakes. And you can order seconds! the staff was super friendly, and let us sit and talk at our table well past the official breakfast time.

I checked out my friends' room and it looked lovely, with a French country decorating theme.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    42
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
85
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Petit Soleil from June 21 - 24th and just loved this treasure of a bed and breakfast. We stayed in a queen room on the second floor with the pig theme "cochon". The room had a lot of character and was clean. The room is very small...it is not meant for hanging out in but for sleeping in. That was no problem for us as we fell in love with San Luis Obisbo and spent no time in the room! We loved the awesome bathroom, the free wi-fi, the amazing brunch and happy hour with free home made treats, delicious French and CA wines, and beautiful patio area. The parking was free but was shared with the restaurant next door. We loved the proximity to downtown San Luis Obisbo and the surrounding towns. We definitely intend to return to this gem of a B&B and the city we fell in love with...the happiest city in the US!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baileys Harbor, WI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this charming little hotel in November. We found it on Tripadvisor and it turned out to be be a great choice. My husband and I both loved it. The room was warm and cozy and the staff even brought appetizers to our room for us the night we arrived. The breakfast was outstanding and the staff very helpful. The location was perfect and we cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night on our way from L.A to San Francisco and came across Petit Soleil on chance.
With the warmest of welcome and the hugest of smiles we were shown to our French room which was just wonderful. For those who take life a little too seriously then think again about staying here but if you don't mind a little bit of french style cosy kitsch in your life, then this may be the B&B for you.
Quality has not been overlooked for theme. The shower was AMAZING, the toiletries L'Occitane, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the bath robes were the finest I've ever I've seen. Excellent WiFi and a decent TV were modern touches in what otherwise felt very much like a French country farmhouse room.
Last, but not least, HAVE BREAKFAST! There are the usual cereals, croissants, fruit etc but they also serve 2 'specials' a day which are home cooked from scratch. We had nutella baked homemade French toast. And yes. It was as good as it sounds.
A marvellous and happy B&B run by true Francophiles that know how to make guests happy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice 10 minute walk to main area of downtown. Really friendly service. Great wine and appetizers. I would honestly have preferred the more informal approach most bnbs have with help yourself vs being served because it allows you to talk to other guests but it was nice. Breakfast was lovely. The rooms were nice, clean, and the soaps etc were in unique bottles. I am rating this as more of a 4 star experience because of the loud trash truck at 5:30 am on a Sunday morning and I think it is about 40$ overpriced. We payed 219 plus tax for a room on a Saturday night. If it was a little cheaper 5 all the way.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 3+ times and LOVE, LOVE it! The staff is fantastic, the food is great and the rooms are decorated very shabby chic! Very tastefully decorated and clean. Their turndown service is also much appreciated!

The hotel is a great location to downtown SLO and you can walk (or ride one of the hote's FREE cruiser bikes!). This hotel helped us fall in love with San Luis Obispo. Also, every single time the hotel has recommended a place to eat or shop, it has been worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

As others have noted, this is a cute little hotel decorated in a French country style. We stayed there mid-week in a downstairs room called the Chanticleer. The room was nicely decorated with roosters as the theme, and had a comfortable king size bed, fair size bathroom with tub and shower, and a 24"-26" size flat panel tv located inside the amoire. We genuinely enjoyed the CD music player playing French and Parisian themed music which added to the overall experience. We didn't experience any overt noise problems which some reviewers have alluded to, and slept restfully in our unit, albeit with the windows closed.

The breakfast room is nicely decorated in a French country style and offers about six tables, with another five in an adjacent outdoor courtyard with fountain. Once again, they have French music playing during the breakfast which adds to the ambience of the hotel. We had the French toast which were good sized and quite tasty, All the while, the staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all, we recommend this hotel for its charm, value, and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1473 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Petit Soleil Hotel San Luis Obispo
Petit Soleil, b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.