We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Luis Obispo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
1473 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
california
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice 10 minute walk to main area of downtown. Really friendly service. Great wine and appetizers. I would honestly have preferred the more informal approach most bnbs have with help yourself vs being served because it allows you to talk to other guests but it was nice. Breakfast was lovely. The rooms were nice, clean, and the soaps etc were in unique bottles. I am rating this as more of a 4 star experience because of the loud trash truck at 5:30 am on a Sunday morning and I think it is about 40$ overpriced. We payed 219 plus tax for a room on a Saturday night. If it was a little cheaper 5 all the way.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    42
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
84
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 3+ times and LOVE, LOVE it! The staff is fantastic, the food is great and the rooms are decorated very shabby chic! Very tastefully decorated and clean. Their turndown service is also much appreciated!

The hotel is a great location to downtown SLO and you can walk (or ride one of the hote's FREE cruiser bikes!). This hotel helped us fall in love with San Luis Obispo. Also, every single time the hotel has recommended a place to eat or shop, it has been worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

As others have noted, this is a cute little hotel decorated in a French country style. We stayed there mid-week in a downstairs room called the Chanticleer. The room was nicely decorated with roosters as the theme, and had a comfortable king size bed, fair size bathroom with tub and shower, and a 24"-26" size flat panel tv located inside the amoire. We genuinely enjoyed the CD music player playing French and Parisian themed music which added to the overall experience. We didn't experience any overt noise problems which some reviewers have alluded to, and slept restfully in our unit, albeit with the windows closed.

The breakfast room is nicely decorated in a French country style and offers about six tables, with another five in an adjacent outdoor courtyard with fountain. Once again, they have French music playing during the breakfast which adds to the ambience of the hotel. We had the French toast which were good sized and quite tasty, All the while, the staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all, we recommend this hotel for its charm, value, and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This B& B was not up to expectations set by its website. Room was hot and stuffy. Commode kept running. Room did not overlook courtyard. Fruit for breakfast was not well cut or presented. However, staff and owners were very cordial. Overall, a bit too much like camping out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a lovely little hotel near the centre of town, and a great place to stop if you are driving the coast road as we were. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the whole place is very tastefully decorated in a French style. The breakfast was exceptionally good and they also lay on wine and snacks each evening in the courtyard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My sisters and I drove from San Francisco to visit SLO and decided on Petit Soleil because of it's affordability and proximity to downtown San Luis Obispo. Check-in was quick and easy! We booked the queen room with trundle bed that accommodated the three of us perfectly. The room was clean, quiet, and very, very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was friendly. We loved our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This adorable French-themed B&B is a must for anyone staying in SLO. From the minute we pulled in, it was like we were in a small French country inn. Stephanie, who was at the front desk, is like the friendliest, most pleasant person ever. I wanted to adopt her. After we checked in to our beautifully appointed room, we went to the back garden for appetizers and wine before dinner at a local restaurant in town. Even the guests were smiling and friendly, telling us what a great place this was. There are magazines in the room, journals, to sign and write comments, and the piece de resistance was a CD player with old fashin French music to listed to. It was very reasonably priced with breakfast and afternoon wine and appretizers included. The couple who own it were very gracious and helpful. I want to go back again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cage aux Folles room with lime green walls and black checked bedding and accents. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1473 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Petit Soleil, b&b
Petit Soleil Hotel San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list