We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, great accomodations but with a couple of caveats ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun, great accomodations but with a couple of caveats ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We stayed at the Apple Farm Inn for two nights, a kind of mini-vacation. We liked the accommodations and the decor - antiques and "fru-fru" decorations in the rooms and all over the hallways. King-sized 4-poster bed in a good-sized room, good heat / AC, fireplace in the room, all for about $175 / night with all the taxes added in. The women will LOVE this place.

Gift shop has lots and lots of Apple Farm stuff for sale ... none of it at sale prices, but maybe some nice souvenirs to take back to family or friends.

Flowers and plants all over the place! Everywhere you look, there are flowers and growing things. The gardening staff must be both extensive and dedicated.

Restaurant has good breakfasts (we didn't eat any other meals there) and the prices were about on a par with other surrounding restaurants.

However ...
(1) There is no internet available in this hotel other than a lone computer in the front lobby. I was able to tap into an unsecured network from a neighboring motel, but I really expected in-house internet.
(2) There was no microwave in the room. Not a biggie, I suppose, since we didn't need to heat anything.
(3) There was no refrigerator in the room. We brought some wine and cheese and ended up having to take it to the front desk, where they were able to store it temporarily in the restaurant's refrigerator. Not an ideal solution, but it worked.
(4) I had No Hot Water when I tried to shower at 5:30 am. None. I'm an early riser, and that was a problem for me. The desk clerk told me that the hot water doesn't come on until about 5:40 in the morning or thereabouts, and sometimes it can be a long trip for the water to get from one end of the hotel to the other. Don't plan on getting a good hot shower before 6am or you may be severely disappointed.

Overall, a fun place to stay if you keep the caveats in mind.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
First of all, thank you for taking the time to review our property. Critiques and positive comments allow us opportunity to improve and ensure total guest satisfaction. Complimentary internet is provided in all rooms via an Ethernet cable. The Ethernet cable is connected to a hard line and is in every room without being requested. The boutique atmosphere of the Apple Farm does not provide our guests an “extended stay” environment, we don’t offer microwaves or refrigerators in our rooms, although if asked we would be happy to store items in our Restaurant refrigerator or heat meals up through our restaurant microwaves or ovens. The Apple Farm was built in 1988 and during the colder months it takes a few minutes for our hot water to reach our guest at that early hour. Once again thank you for your response and we hope we can welcome you again at the Apple Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    260
    83
    36
    22
See reviews for
207
398
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

This was the third stay for my wife and I at the Apple Farm but our first time in one of their Millhouse suites. Which is basically, a room in a more secluded location with a small, 2-person hot tub that looks like it was purchased back in 84'.

We were not dissapointed with the quality of the room or the stay, its just i dont think i can justify paying $225 (after AAA discount on a Thursday night) for a room that is the same size as all the other rooms in the hotel just for a hot tub and a more private location. I guess for $100 more per night i was just expecting a bigger more luxurious room.

Heat/AC worked great, room was clean, scenery was gorgeous, and the little hosted wine reception they have from 5-7 is a very nice touch. Unless your really going to take advantage of the hot tub, skip the suite, save $100 and get one of their regular king rooms.

Service, well to be honest its never really been one of this hotels strong points. 3 times there and 3 times i have found the front desk help very snippy and snotty. The biggest pain is when you dial zero or call the hotel from an outside line and ask for the front desk, good luck getting connected! The woman who answers the phone almost always refuses to connect you with the front desk, assuring you that no matter what it is "i can hande it for you here, no need to transfer" once or twice i even found myself having to demand being connected!! Hillarious!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed one night in a room on the first floor of the main building with 2 double beds. Right away, I was impressed with how charming the decor was. I loved the circular staircase in the lobby...the lobby was very inviting. Service was very pleasant. The rooms were nicely decorated with an warm feel. We arrived in the late afternoon, which was tea time where they provided guests with free pastries, wine, tea, or cider. This was a nice welcome after being on the road. They also had available coffee, hot cocoa, water and tea in the lobby throughout the day. In the room, consistent with the apple theme, they provide 2 free small bottles of sparkling apple cider.
Our room was clean and quite large, with a small sofa and seating area at the far end of the room and a spacious bathroom. My bed squeaked a bit but it was tolerable as long as I didn't toss and turn while sleeping. Also, they don't have wifi in the rooms but do have an ethernet connection with a pretty long cord.
Overall, this Inn is not luxurious but it is a warm, cozy, and inviting place to relax while on vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed there one night on our way up north from LA to SF. It was wonderful! The room was not huge, but clean and we had a hot tub on a private terrace which was supernice. The restaurant had good food - we also tried their homemade apple cider and loved it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

The service at the restaurant is great. We ate there for both dinner and breakfast the next morning and enjoyed everything (except for the tuna melt.) The room was great. It was in the building we checked in to. We had a nice love seat in addition to our two queen beds and plenty of room for us to spread out. At night, our baby threw up and they came right down with a new sheet and pillow right after we called the front desk. They were very helpful and prompt and asked if we needed anything else. The location is great. It is very close to downtown. We loved the pool and hot tub. We loved all the decorations in the hallway and the gift shop too. We got a great deal on travelzoo and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

I stayed one night with my mother and my 11 year old daughter. We were there for an event at Cal Poly. The location was excellent. Downtown and the school were nearby. The room was spacious with a sitting area, fireplace and large bathroom. The grounds were well landscaped and taken care of nicely. The inn was decorated for Christmas as was the accompanying boutique. I highly recommend that you visit during the holiday season if you want to enjoy the Christmas spirit of the inn. We ate in the restaurant twice and enjoyed it. The baked goods are outstanding and the portions are large. At night there is a reception for guests with appetizers and wine. Then there are fresh baked cookies each evening in the lobby. It was quiet at night so a good night's sleep was easily attained.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Nice place belonging to an early era. This place is so perfectly preserved, you'd think Reagan is still President. A bit overdecorated, and the Christmas stuff is way over the top. No free breakfast and the ethernet did not work with my laptop.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.