We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apple Pie and Home Comforts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Apple Pie and Home Comforts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Arrived here during our US west coast drive, we arrived really late at night and missed the welcome reception. However, in our room was a plate of snacks and a bottle of wine as compensation, how's that for a nice touch? Lovely rooms, great restaurant and excellent service. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you had such a nice visit and that you enjoyed your room and our restaurant. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our entire team. We can't wait to welcome you for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    287
    88
    39
    23
See reviews for
237
448
33
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

As we walked in to reception tired and weary, the first question we were asked was "would you like a Chardonnay or a Merlot?" Checking in with a glass of wine in my hand was a new experience for me, but one I could easily get used to. After our teenage daughters had picked up some cookies, and the very friendly lady on the reception desk had anticipated their question about Wi-Fi password, we headed off to our room. It was #1, with two bedrooms (lovely cast iron bedstead, very comfortable, with a pink quilt for us, queen beds with American quilts for the girls), shutters on the windows, and a lovely travertine-looking bathroom.
We went for a swim in the heated pool, small but perfectly serviceable, and a relax in the Jacuzzi, then went for dinner, which was fine but not great. I had a Reuben sandwich, husband had a burger, daughters had chicken and biscuits and turkey pie. No puddings, as all too full.
The hotel is a strange combination of charming and kitsch... the rooms are genuinely prettily decorated, but the hotel is made up of about eight disparate buildings (including 'The Old Mill' with a waterwheel on the side, a la Pirates of the Caribbean) and its as though no landscape architect was involved - buildings seem a bit plonked where there's room, and the space between them is random in an unsatisfying way. They've made the best of it - ugly walkways have twinkly lights strung across them, the end wall of our essentially ugly row of thin walled motel rooms has a gorgeous climbing plant on it attracting hummingbirds, so the end result is a little bit tacky, a little bit charming. One of the buildings is a very commercialised shop 'Ye Olde Apple Farme' everything.
Do not come here if you like sleek and sophisticated, but if you like American quirkiness, as we do, then it's a great place to stay: we enjoyed our visit - the charming won out over the tacky - and we would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We appreciate your review and recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our welcome glass of wine. We think it is a nice way to start your stay off in wine country. Thank you for your suggestions on our gardens and pathways. Our buildings are spread out throughout our property and we try to connect them with beautiful plants and flowers. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our landscape manager. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed in an updated room in the main lodge. It was stunningly beautiful and spacious. Probably the best hotel room ever! The lobby is so warm and inviting, and the staff is top notch. The afternoon wine and snacks were so good too. We had fresh pastries for breakfast in the restaurant which was a real treat. Can't wait to come back to this place.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post you review. We are absolutely thrilled that you had such a nice stay and that our staff was so helpful. They will be so happy to hear this! We certainly appreciate your feedback and your recommendation. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This hotel is really pretty and has good service, but the problem you can find is check with the hotel what you are getting first, I booked a 2 queen bedroom, when I check in they have me the room #2, it was really small with a full size bed, that's not what was posted in any site.

Then I go to the front desk to complain they showed me 2 more rooms, still not good enough, then they showed me the deluxe room, that was exactly what I thought I paid for but they are asking for $40 extra, the staff was really kind but not helpful, so I stop complaining they offered me cookies that they ofer every guest as a consolation, still I paid around $160.00 with no breakfast and the deluxe is just $20 extra with breakfast included.

Then I find out there is a special package in part of the hotel they call the trellis package (for $120 breakfast included), that's in the motel area, no baggage assistance, not a lot of privacy and I don't really think they care about the costumer, that's where I am right now when I paid 40 more dollars just for the room

So you just make sure the room you are getting is not in the motel.

I'll upload pictures of the rooms they offered me.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize that your stay in our Trellis Court did not exceed your expectations. We try to be as clear as we can on our website about the differences in our room types and facilities and we will continue to work hard to improve this. Your feedback will help us to do so. While our Trellis Court rooms are smaller than our Inn rooms, many of them are newly renovated and include upgraded amenities. We will be sure to use your review as a training for our staff. Please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay so that I can ensure you receive the best room possible. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,
Christen Goldie
christeng@applefarm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night on a drive from SF to LA and, whilst it's a little out of the way, it's a great hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff and given cookies and drinks as soon as we walked in. The room was fantastic, large and spotlessly clean. The restaurant was good rather than great but the service was excellent. We would happily recommend it!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you had such a nice time. Your comments regarding our staff are especially kind and we will be sure to pass them on. We certainly appreciate your feedback and recommendation and we can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great hotel. Everything was perfect, the room was completely clean, the staff very friendly...and the restaurant!!! Incredibly tasty!! Also the bakery, what a great breakfast! I would really recommend staying at This hotel for sure!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so thrilled that you had such a nice visit and that our staff was so friendly. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our restaurant and bakery chefs as well. We can't wait until your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We planned a last minute trip to Apple Farm San Luis Obispo based on being able to secure a reservation. Fortunately, we did. We had a wonderful, relaxing stay. The attention to detail at Apple Farm is second to none. My job demands attention to detail so I am highly tuned into that and this attribute is impressive at Apple Farm. Upon arrival, we felt very welcome by the staff members and all matters at check in were handled efficiently. The hotel is close and handy to the down town area. We would highly recommend a stay at the Apple Farm!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We really appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that we could be a nice spot for rest and relaxation for you. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I will be sure to pass them on to our entire team. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Christen Goldie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#7 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#8 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.