We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the prettiest rooms I've ever stayed in and the staff are so friendly and helpful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trellis Package - $119
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the prettiest rooms I've ever stayed in and the staff are so friendly and helpful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in an updated room in the main lodge. It was stunningly beautiful and spacious. Probably the best hotel room ever! The lobby is so warm and inviting, and the staff is top notch. The afternoon wine and snacks were so good too. We had fresh pastries for breakfast in the restaurant which was a real treat. Can't wait to come back to this place.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post you review. We are absolutely thrilled that you had such a nice stay and that our staff was so helpful. They will be so happy to hear this! We certainly appreciate your feedback and your recommendation. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    223
    66
    34
    21
See reviews for
164
341
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is really pretty and has good service, but the problem you can find is check with the hotel what you are getting first, I booked a 2 queen bedroom, when I check in they have me the room #2, it was really small with a full size bed, that's not what was posted in any site.

Then I go to the front desk to complain they showed me 2 more rooms, still not good enough, then they showed me the deluxe room, that was exactly what I thought I paid for but they are asking for $40 extra, the staff was really kind but not helpful, so I stop complaining they offered me cookies that they ofer every guest as a consolation, still I paid around $160.00 with no breakfast and the deluxe is just $20 extra with breakfast included.

Then I find out there is a special package in part of the hotel they call the trellis package (for $120 breakfast included), that's in the motel area, no baggage assistance, not a lot of privacy and I don't really think they care about the costumer, that's where I am right now when I paid 40 more dollars just for the room

So you just make sure the room you are getting is not in the motel.

I'll upload pictures of the rooms they offered me.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize that your stay in our Trellis Court did not exceed your expectations. We try to be as clear as we can on our website about the differences in our room types and facilities and we will continue to work hard to improve this. Your feedback will help us to do so. While our Trellis Court rooms are smaller than our Inn rooms, many of them are newly renovated and include upgraded amenities. We will be sure to use your review as a training for our staff. Please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay so that I can ensure you receive the best room possible. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,
Christen Goldie
christeng@applefarm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night on a drive from SF to LA and, whilst it's a little out of the way, it's a great hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff and given cookies and drinks as soon as we walked in. The room was fantastic, large and spotlessly clean. The restaurant was good rather than great but the service was excellent. We would happily recommend it!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you had such a nice time. Your comments regarding our staff are especially kind and we will be sure to pass them on. We certainly appreciate your feedback and recommendation and we can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great hotel. Everything was perfect, the room was completely clean, the staff very friendly...and the restaurant!!! Incredibly tasty!! Also the bakery, what a great breakfast! I would really recommend staying at This hotel for sure!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so thrilled that you had such a nice visit and that our staff was so friendly. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our restaurant and bakery chefs as well. We can't wait until your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We planned a last minute trip to Apple Farm San Luis Obispo based on being able to secure a reservation. Fortunately, we did. We had a wonderful, relaxing stay. The attention to detail at Apple Farm is second to none. My job demands attention to detail so I am highly tuned into that and this attribute is impressive at Apple Farm. Upon arrival, we felt very welcome by the staff members and all matters at check in were handled efficiently. The hotel is close and handy to the down town area. We would highly recommend a stay at the Apple Farm!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We really appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that we could be a nice spot for rest and relaxation for you. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I will be sure to pass them on to our entire team. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Christen Goldie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed one night at the Apple Farm with my husband and 3 children. The check in was very efficient and staff were very helpful. All of us were pleasantly surprised by the lovely cookies we were given in arrival. We had two rooms which were unfortunately in completely different buildings. The room in the main building was lovely and had loads of space. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable. Also, we ate in the Apple Farm restaurant. The food was beautiful and everyone was more than happy with their choice. This hotel offers a very different experience to the usual corporate hotel options and is most definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is so nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you found our rooms comfortable and that your visits to our restaurant were great as well. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to our hotel and restaurant staff. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed in a Mill House room previously; those are over a real working mill with water pouring next to our jacuzzi tub balcony overlooking the lavishly-flowered, lush grounds replete with gardens of flowers and plants. Apple Farm is like the coolest hotel possible (light switch-controlled fireplaces and canopy beds, deluxe decor and all) set within country botanical gardens, for lack of a better description. This time we stayed in another specialty room with a big round high ceiling... Wow! Then there's the grist mill making real apple cider live, the amazing food and desserts of the on premises restaurant & bakery (we're talking homemade cobblers and grandma's apple pies, y'all) and the nicest staff possible :) We're all smiles here, folks!!! PS - Can be extremely romantic or family-like, depending on who you're with. Also, we took Amtrak from Los Angeles to get there.... easy to do and they are close to Amtrak and the incredible beach.

Room Tip: Although all their rooms are great, if you want to pay a bit more, get one of the Mill House rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We appreciate your feedback on your stay at our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed room 300 so much as well as our grounds and restaurant. Our Millhouse rooms and other signature rooms are very unique and we love the way you described them. We certainly will be sure to pass your comments on to our entire staff. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.